Home » Duke » Happy 4th?

Happy 4th?

Duke here.

The 4th of July isn’t happy for me and many of my canine friends. My mom and dad like fireworks, but they haven’t lit any off in the past couple of years which I’m sure is because it upsets me so. It doesn’t stop our neighbors though.

Last night all the booming ended at 11 and we all headed to bed. I didn’t feel too awfully stressed because my thundershirt helps me feel more secure, but I don’t like listening to that loud booming.

We were all drifting off to sleep when…BOOM!

Our neighbors. 11:30 at night. Not happy. This went on for half an hour. We don’t have air conditioning and it was too hot to close the window so I left and went to the office at the other end of the house till the noise stopped. Luckily it quit at midnight.

And we could all finally sleep.

Because sleep is important to me.

I remember that last year, with another neighbor it was much worse and went on much later, but then…the weekend is still ahead of us. This is not my favorite time of year…

Duker-day...and nothing much

 

One thought on “Happy 4th?

  1. Blitzen here.
    They don’t bother me that much (hey, my name comes from the German word for lightening!), but there’s an empty lot between us and our next door neighbors so they shoot fireworks off (which is illegal) over the lot and into our driveway. Mom keeps freaking out because the trash lands in the driveway, so she keeps insisting that they are trying to set her car or bedroom on fire.
    Grandma says we have to be neighborly so that Mom can’t call the sheriff and complain. IDK, I’d be okay with it if it would make her be quiet.

I would love to hear what you think!

