Home » Uncategorized » Here We Go…

Here We Go…

Another day. Another Blog.

Well, I actually really love the idea that I’m talking to people that I know!

Don’t get me wrong. I love technology. I love reaching out to people through the computer. There are many of you that I first got to know because of the ease of communication via blogging or facebook. I have family that I mainly keep in touch with through facebook. Some of you I may not have even met in person, but I feel we know each other well enough to invite you here. I have some very dear friends who I first met through message boards or emailing. And I may complain (a lot) about facebook, but it sure has provided many of us with great opportunities to get to know one another better or to just plain keep in touch. I guess my blog takes that one step further. Sometimes there’s more that I want to share and I really do love to write. It’s just that lately I have become uneasy with the thought of sharing much of my day-to-day life with people I don’t know, people that were following me only because they were trying to gain followers for their own blog or perhaps sell something. It’s funny when I first started blogging I would be thrilled to find I had another follower. Even as recently as when I did the last A to Z Challenge I was annoyed that people weren’t visiting my blog which was the whole point of the challenge. But I’ve also come to realize a few other things. People aren’t always who they appear to be here (or on facebook). They can create a whole new persona, maybe it’s who they want to be or maybe they are just out to deceive. Anyhow, that makes me uncomfortable. I’ve got no problem with open blogs as I’ve done it for the past few years. It’s just that sometimes I’d just rather feel like I’m talking to friends and family.

It just feels more intimate this way, don’t you think?

4 thoughts on “Here We Go…

  1. Thank you for inviting me to be part of your new blogging endeavor. I also have mixed feelings about the various forms of social media. I’m looking forward to seeing where you take this blog.

I would love to hear what you think!

