Home » A - Z Challenge » T is for Trendsetter (and television)

T is for Trendsetter (and television)

A trendsetter I am not, although I was recently credited with being just that!

I am happy, however, that I have introduced some of my friends to certain not-to-be-missed shows on PBS, particularly Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife. While we’re at it, has anyone been watching Mr. Selfridge? While I’m not especially overly attached to it, it’s on after Call the Midwife and I’m determined to see it through. It is getting better as the season progresses.

Television. We had cable for about 10 years and dropped it about 4 years ago. We don’t miss it at all. Jim complained that I never settled on any one show, but channel surfed. And we don’t spend a lot of time in front of the tv anyhow. Now we have Netflix.

While I find that I forget to turn the tv off after the morning news and sometimes leave it on as background noise through the day, I don’t sit and watch soap operas or judge shows or whatever else might catch my attention. And up until this last winter it seems, Jim was rarely in the house in the evening (catching up on shop work, something he’s done since we were married and a byproduct of running a home-based business) to watch tv. However as age would have it, he gets worn out after putting in a long day doing very physical work and just doesn’t have those 14-hour days in him anymore. We watch more tv than we ever have. I was used to having my little tv on in my office in the evenings. No sense sitting in the living room by myself, I figured, and I could get some work done or diddle around on the computer while watching tv. Not anymore. Almost every night, Jim and I spend an hour (or more) reading and/or watching tv.

What do we watch?

I realized one night last week that if we’re not watching PBS, we’re watching something on Netflix. I can’t remember the last time we had just regular old tv on.

And I wouldn’t have it any other way. Cable or Dish are just fine for others and I’m certainly not saying anything against it. It’s just not for us. I’m weird? A nerd? So be it. I wear my badge proudly!

Charlotte

2 thoughts on “T is for Trendsetter (and television)

I would love to hear what you think!

