Home » Journal » Giving Up

Giving Up

Do you give up something for Lent?

Every year for as long as I can remember I have given up something, usually a food. I’ve given up chocolate or french fries more than once. Other years I have vowed to be more of something. I think last year I gave up complaining. That didn’t work well for me.

This year I decided to focus in a little more. Please don’t think I’m being lame, but I gave up complaining about commercials. Honestly, it is very difficult for me! I was out with my daughter the other day and we were complaining about a commercial before I even realized it. I had to stop myself.

Jim is happy though. He’s usually the one who has to listen to my commercial-hating-rant. If you don’t know me well, we run a home-based business. I used to be out and about more when my kids were growing up and I was running them around or volunteering, but now I just don’t get out a lot. I’ve tried to get in the habit of turning the tv off after the morning news, but quite often I just forget. It’s background noise all day. And I catch all the daytime commercials, whether I want to or not. And they bug me. And I complain. It’s hard not to.

So yes, I’ve been working hard on not complaining about commercials.

Like this:

Or this:

For sure this:

Maybe this:

I could go on, but I’m absolutely not complaining right now. Just giving some examples. There are some that I really like. To be fair, another day I’ll hunt those down and share them.

 

5 thoughts on “Giving Up

  1. I agree with you whole-heartedly. I have a very difficult time not complaining about commercials, particularly how women and girls are still portrayed as mindless princesses or materialistic shopping queens. And if they aren’t shown as bikini-clad sex objects chasing the guy with the Axe body spray (um…whah???) then they are bland stepford wives whose biggest concerns are finding yet another “amazing” toilet cleaner and then posting it on twitter. Not sure I’ve ever seen any women I could actually relate to on a commercial, with the possible exception of a few of the prescription drug ads. Strange.

  2. Pingback: And Now The Good Ones « The Sweet Simple Things

I would love to hear what you think!

