Home » Advertising Trade Cards » St. Valentine’s Day

St. Valentine’s Day

We don’t really do Valentine’s Day here in any big and fancy way. Especially since the kids are grown and gone. I always made sure everyone had a sweet treat for Valentine’s when the kids were growing up and of course they celebrated at school. I remember when Jim and I celebrated our first Valentine’s Day together. I was a poor single mom working a minimum wage job and struggling to get back out on our own. Jim and I had been dating for about four months. As one of my Christmas gifts, Jim had given me one of those big Hershey Kisses. Valentine’s Day came along and I was trying to come up with something to give Jim. Something that he would like and that I could afford. Apparently I had a lot more willpower back then because I still had that Hershey’s Kiss and I chopped it up and made chocolate chip cookies for Jim. And he was happy.

So every year I try to make cookies for Valentine’s Day. I’d love to be able to say that I’ve been successful every year…yet another regret. Ah well, can’t turn back time. Today I am making him cookies. His favorite cookies.

I would also like to take this opportunity to start a new tradition on my blog. I have started collecting antique advertising trade cards. Like I am doing with my antique photos, I will share one of my cards here every now and then.

So for today:

atc 001

3 thoughts on “St. Valentine’s Day

  1. Love this card–what a great thing to collect. I haven’t been collecting anything of late–except dust bunnies! I didn’t realize you had a weekly post called Monday musings. I have a monthly musings–great minds think alike! Happy Valentines Day!

I would love to hear what you think!

