Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings

Monday Musings

So, what’s been going on in my neck of the woods (you may or may not wonder)?

It’s been something like three months since I’ve written a blog post. Let’s see if I can catch you up in a quick way.

Business was pretty busy through the end of the year and fairly consumed much of our time. We’ll take it. Not enough to hire a  helper, but enough to keep on. I started a business website and plan to write a blog post there once a month. I’m hoping to collect memories from other family members. Jim’s sister shared a lovely story for Christmas. Check us out (it’s a work-in-progress): welserwelldrillingllc.com. I’ve got another post in the works (borrowed from an old blog post).

Our kids are working at jobs that they both seem to love and our son’s girlfriend is working hard in her nursing program. They all keep busy and Jim and I enjoy the journeys that they are all traveling. And hoping that more good things will happen before this year is up.

A very good friend of our was in a very serious and freak accident about a month and a half ago while cutting down a tree with his son. He is recovering slowly. It will be a long, very long, road for him. We have been able to visit and spend time with him in the ICU (although our own illnesses kept us away for a while). He and Jim have been friends since they were kids. Our sons (now adults) have been friends since they were practically babies. We also have others -family members and friends- who are experiencing health problems. We wish that we lived closer so we could spend time with them, but they are constantly in my prayers. I’m hoping that 2013 brings better health and healing to them all.

Our Christmas was very relaxed. And I mean VERY relaxed. The kids showed up when they felt like it. We opened gifts when we felt like it. We ate when we felt like it. It was just the four of us and Jon’s girlfriend came over later in the day. Jim brought his mother over for dessert and so we could give her her gifts. That’s all folks.

2012 001

This about sums up our Christmas!

We did have a nice family shindig for New Year’s Eve. Over the years New Year’s Eve has become the time for Jim’s family to gather to celebrate the holidays. Eat, play, and be merry. And we did. Jim and I usually host our gatherings during the summer out at the lodge in the woods so it was nice to have everyone to our home. Especially since we had re-done the living room last year. If you haven’t heard me say before, we bought our house from Jim’s parents (it’s where the business is based) and Jim has lived here all but the first six years we were married.

That’s the past few months in a nutshell.

And so the new year began. Because we were having the party on New Year’s Eve, the house was cleaned top to bottom and we were totally caught up with everything that mattered. We were ready to start the new year fresh. Then Jim got sick January 1st and I got sick the 2nd. The flu and Jim ended up with a bad sinus infection. It pretty much knocked us out and took a good two weeks to fully recover from.

Maybe I was off to a slow start (I do have a good excuse), but I have many grand plans and great projects to work on in the coming year(s). And I’m very excited!

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. Welcome back, Laura!! Glad to hear your holidays were relaxed and went well!

    So sorry to hear that you and Jim were so sick. Believe me, Tom and I feel your pain. He’s down with a really bad cold right now.

    I hope Jim’s long-time friend will continue to heal a little more each day. 🙂

    I’m wishing you the best of luck with your new projects! Keep us posted on them when you have time, ok?

I would love to hear what you think!

