Home » Family » Monday Musings

Monday Musings

Thirty years ago tonight (a Friday in 1982), I was sitting on my friend Renee’s couch with a cigarette in one hand and a glass of wine in the other waiting for her boyfriend Fritz’s friend to arrive. A blind date. She had been trying to set us up for a few months and finally, after an especially difficult time in my life, I agreed. I needed some fun. I told her to make sure he knew that I wasn’t interested in a relationship, just to go out and have fun. And we did. We went out for fish and chips (a staple for Jim as I would find out) and went with friends to see a band and have a couple of drinks and dance and just have a good time.

And while we were slow dancing during a fast song, we shared our first kiss.

And my life was forever changed.

December 1982
July 2012

His kisses still wow me.

Blessings…

12 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. Congratulations! But, it would be great to know how you've made it work all these years! There must be something else, besides kisses that wow!It's also a shame that we don't hear from Jim on this.God bless!

  2. This is SO sweet!!!!! Steve and I met in 1981. We would have been married 28 years this June. Cherish your time together and make ALL the memories you can! That's what I cherich now – my memories of Steve!

  3. Good Morning Laura….your simple happy life is about to have a prize dropped into it. You are the winner of the Halloween Prize on thefeatherednest. Email me at ournest@live.ca and give me your mailing address. I'll get it out by post right away. Delores

  4. Awwww. You two were cute together 30 years ago, and you're still cute together today. Isn't it wonderful to be married to your best friend? What a gift from God! I wish you two many more happy years together.

I would love to hear what you think!

