Home » Monday Musings » My Monday Musings

My Monday Musings

Remember when Jim and I took a trip to Nashville to see the taping of Pa’s Fiddle, a tribute to Charles (Pa) Ingalls and the music of the Little House books? I wrote about it over at Beyond Little House.

I wanted to make sure that I would be watching it on my PBS station so I contacted them. I was told (in an email) that I would be contacted when they found out when it was scheduled. I guess I was told a little white lie. It wasn’t scheduled and I didn’t find out until the June schedule was coming out. I couldn’t find Pa’s Fiddle listed anywhere. I don’t think they ever did plan to schedule it. I was sure that a PBS station based out of a big city like Detroit, which covered such a large viewing area, would surely be airing this wonderful special.

And I let them know how disappointed I was. I told them that it wasn’t just about the Little House, it was about music and history and America. I may have emailed a couple of times (and made a phone call too). When I got over the initial heartbreak over not being able to see it on my PBS station, I urged them to consider airing it at a later pledge drive. I don’t think it will happen.

At some point in this process I received an email from another person at the PBS station. He wanted to assure me that they do appreciate my support and offered (as a way of making it up to me) the Pa’s Fiddle dvd and cd. I was impressed by this offer and thought that they were indeed trying to make amends. I heartily thanked him via email. And waited.

In the mean time, I had already pledged to another PBS station that was airing the Pa’s Fiddle special so that I could show my support to them and receive the complete Pa’s Fiddle package that was offered (I had been saving my pennies!). A woman from this station called to thank me and ask what my favorite programming was. I explained that I’m not even able to watch their station (it’s three hours across the state) and she was intrigued by my story. When I received the thank you package I was pretty thrilled to finally watch what Jim and I had been able to be involved in that night in January in Nashville. It was also shown at LauraPalooza this past summer. And by the time we left LauraPalooza, Jamie told me that she wanted my Pa’s Fiddle dvd and cd when it came … since I already had mine and she was, you know, catching the Laura-bug. šŸ™‚

And I half expected the promised dvd and cd to be waiting for me when we came home from our trip this summer. It hadn’t. I started to think that my PBS station had once again led me on (probably to get me off their back) and that I wouldn’t ever see it. It wasn’t a huge deal. I mean, they had told me that they would send it as a courtesy. I hadn’t made a pledge after all. But then a little part of me kept thinking that they had made the offer and then just forgot about it. A little disappointing. But still, maybe it would be coming.

As the summer drew to a close, I knew that it would never show up in my mailbox and I was annoyed. And I decided to shoot a quick email off just letting this fella who made the promise that – “Hey, I don’t want to sound selfish, but if you weren’t going to send it then why make the offer?” I received a response within a couple of hours promising to check into it. The very next day I got an email from someone else who told me that the package had been mailed out in June and that they would reorder. I was pleased with the response, but still felt a little strange complaining about it in the first place.

A couple of days ago when I went to get the mail, I found a package from PBS. And when I opened it, I was floored to find this:

It’s the whole Pa’s Fiddle package. The same one I paid top dollar for through the other PBS station.
Wow!

I’m not sure what prompted them to send the top package, but I will be making my pledge to my own PBS station now! Even though I’m still disappointed that they never aired Pa’s Fiddle and probably never will…

Just another Monday…

10 thoughts on “My Monday Musings

  1. Your persistence paid off!!! What a nice gift -unexpected. I saw the special on my PBS channel. I looked for you, but didn't see you in the audience. Glad you have an extra package to give to your daughter. LH always needs new fans. Good post!

  2. Your persistence paid off!!! What a nice gift -unexpected. I saw the special on my PBS channel. I looked for you, but didn't see you in the audience. Glad you have an extra package to give to your daughter. LH always needs new fans. Good post!

  3. They aired it here in NH July. What a lucky lady you are! I'm still trying to find copies of the new Laura documentary by Dean Butler. I tried all the Laura site websites,no luck. Please let us know all about it when you watch it!

  4. They aired it here in NH July. What a lucky lady you are! I'm still trying to find copies of the new Laura documentary by Dean Butler. I tried all the Laura site websites,no luck. Please let us know all about it when you watch it!

I would love to hear what you think!

