Home » Monday Musings » My Monday Musings

My Monday Musings

Monday already?

~We got an early start to our day yesterday when our phone rang at 4am. Our daughter had been having chest pains all night and they weren’t getting any better. Jim and I threw some clothes on, picked her up, and took her to the ER. After more than 3 hours and several tests to rule out heart or lung problems, they decided it was something she ate. What a relief! But since being diagnosed with multiple food allergies earlier this year and having surgery for the hiatal hernia, she has to be ever cautious about what she eats. Not an easy task…

 ~It’s annoying when you unload your groceries only to find out the mascara you bought is missing. Self checkout. My own fault.

~The weather has been lovely in my neck of the woods. We are enjoying and taking advantage because we know that this will not last!

This is at Bronner’s. Just thought I’d share. 🙂

~I have a whole list of things to do this winter and want to get started. When Jamie moved out, she left some things that she wouldn’t be needing. It was fine with me, but then I decided that I want to put things in order in my little house so I packed up what was left. I think it was more than what we thought and we haven’t had time to haul it all to Jamie’s house. We’ve decided to store it in the garage for now. First on my to-do list – having our furniture and carpets professionally cleaned. I have my own carpet cleaner, but like to have it done professionally every couple of years. What better time than after we’ve downgraded from three animals to one and want to make the now spare bedroom into a guest room?

~I’ve been in a funk lately. Maybe it’s the changes lately, but I just feel as if I haven’t accomplished enough in my simple little life. I spent my 20s, 30s, and a good deal of my 40s raising my kids and that was an accomplishment in itself. I wouldn’t change what I did, but I pretty much gave up my hobbies and it’s been so hard to try to pick them back up. I just need a good kick in the pants, I guess.

~And then there are some days that I get so much done and days like today that I just can’t get started. Monday. Enjoy what’s left of it.

16 thoughts on “My Monday Musings

  1. I think funky Mondays are Gods' way of giving us a little time off from our hum-drum routines. A little time to sit with a cup of tea and reflect on the previous weekend happenings and a little time to plan for the week ahead. Time to make lists of what is important to get done and time to put aside what is trivial. Don't fight it – embrace those funky days for what they are… a little rest from the hum-drum world that is moving all too fast.

  2. I think funky Mondays are Gods' way of giving us a little time off from our hum-drum routines. A little time to sit with a cup of tea and reflect on the previous weekend happenings and a little time to plan for the week ahead. Time to make lists of what is important to get done and time to put aside what is trivial. Don't fight it – embrace those funky days for what they are… a little rest from the hum-drum world that is moving all too fast.

  3. Glad your daughter's okay. It's so scary when a child is sick (no matter their age!!).I can understand being in a funk; it happens to all of us once in awhile.

  4. Glad your daughter's okay. It's so scary when a child is sick (no matter their age!!).I can understand being in a funk; it happens to all of us once in awhile.

  5. So happy your daughter is okay! That can be awfully scary. Don't worry too much about this feeling. After raising a family it is time for you to enjoy your empty nest. Make your day what you want it to be…after all, it is 'your' day!A Big {{{{{HUG}}}} To You!Loretta

  6. So happy your daughter is okay! That can be awfully scary. Don't worry too much about this feeling. After raising a family it is time for you to enjoy your empty nest. Make your day what you want it to be…after all, it is 'your' day!A Big {{{{{HUG}}}} To You!Loretta

  7. Glad to hear your daughter was alright! That must have been scary. We've been having beautiful weather too, it's such a pleasure after the heat wave of the summer. Sorry to hear you've been in a funk. I hope you are feeling better soon.

  8. Glad to hear your daughter was alright! That must have been scary. We've been having beautiful weather too, it's such a pleasure after the heat wave of the summer. Sorry to hear you've been in a funk. I hope you are feeling better soon.

  9. So glad to hear that your daughter wasn't having a heart attack. Goodness! Still, food allergies sound like they're a tough problem to deal with. My hubby has diabetes pretty bad, and he has to watch everything he eats too.I've been in a funk lately too. Sometimes I think, "Is this all there is in life? Just working to pay the bills?" A lot of my problem is the changing of the seasons. I get that Seasonal Affective Disorder where winter, colder temps and gray skies send me into a depressed funk where I don't want to move or do anything but move south where it's warmer and sunny. Maybe the weather has been driving your moods? Just a guess.

  10. So glad to hear that your daughter wasn't having a heart attack. Goodness! Still, food allergies sound like they're a tough problem to deal with. My hubby has diabetes pretty bad, and he has to watch everything he eats too.I've been in a funk lately too. Sometimes I think, "Is this all there is in life? Just working to pay the bills?" A lot of my problem is the changing of the seasons. I get that Seasonal Affective Disorder where winter, colder temps and gray skies send me into a depressed funk where I don't want to move or do anything but move south where it's warmer and sunny. Maybe the weather has been driving your moods? Just a guess.

I would love to hear what you think!

