Home » Duke » Duker-day … and the doctor’s office

Duker-day … and the doctor’s office

Duke here.

Life goes on as happy as can be. I get almost all the regular pettings, scratchings, and belly rubs that I desire. I get food. I get snacks. I get car rides. I’m treated pretty darn good.

And then one day I hear my mom say to my dad, “I felt a lump on Duke’s tummy.” They talked about what-ifs and what-it-could-bes. And then I heard my Dad say, “Well, maybe you should take him to the see the vet.”

I was pretty sure I knew what the vet is. I know the vet isn’t a place, but when they talk about a vet they take me to a different place. A place where other animals are and everyone that I see there really seems to like me. I’ve been going there longer than I can remember, I know that for sure. I know that the vet is really a person, a man named Dr. Saunders. I like him. He gets down on the floor with me and scratches my tummy. The one thing I don’t like lately is that every time we see him, he does tell my mom and dad that I must be eating too much. I wish he’d quit doing that.

And so on Monday, I went to the place where the vet is. I was a little nervous. I don’t know why though, but my mom was a little nervous too. I get a little excited too so my dad always comes on these visits. My mom used to take me by herself when I was younger, but she says I almost dislocated her shoulder once pulling on the leash. I’m not sure what that means, but if it’s bad I really didn’t mean it!

So, being nervous and all those different smells, I forgot myself and, umm, peed against the seats in the waiting room. I felt a little bad about that and my mom apologized like a gazillion times, but the lady behind the desk told my mom and dad that it happens a lot there.

They were really busy that day and Doctor was talking to a lady in the waiting room while we were waiting. When he was done, he said since the girls were busy he would take me back. First we stopped at the dreaded scale and one of the ladies in back stepped in to help then. I guess I’m supposed to stop when I’m on the scale, but it’s kind of fun to walk on and off over and over. But my mom tells me, “Sit Duke!” and so I do. My mom didn’t realize until we got back home, but I lost over two pounds since my last visit. I mean, every little bit counts, right?

So, Doctor talks to my mom and dad and feels my tummy. Then he tells them about things that could be done since it (the lump) was a little bit of a concern. And then he talked a lot of gumblety that I didn’t understand. But he and my parents decided what they would do and the doctor and the lady took me away from my parents. I was excited and nervous, but they are so nice there that it makes me feel better. I’m not sure what all they did, but it involved a needle and looking at something.

Doctor came back and said that everything looked good (which means they don’t have to do the other things that they talked about). Phew! I know my mom felt better after that!

And then he told us not to stop at McDonald’s and get me a cheeseburger on the way home. Spoilsport.

16 thoughts on “Duker-day … and the doctor’s office

  1. Whew! What a relief, eh Dukers! So glad all went well.Vet's can be a nervous place to go, but your parents only take you there because they love you. (and as a gal who worked in a Vet Clinic for 8 years, it really is ok about your little accident.They happen and we are used to it:)

  2. Whew! What a relief, eh Dukers! So glad all went well.Vet's can be a nervous place to go, but your parents only take you there because they love you. (and as a gal who worked in a Vet Clinic for 8 years, it really is ok about your little accident.They happen and we are used to it:)

  3. Awwww, Dukey is such a sport. SO glad to hear the tumor isn't anything problematic. Don't feel bad, puppy. I hate stepping on the scale at my doctor's office for the same reason! LOL

  4. Awwww, Dukey is such a sport. SO glad to hear the tumor isn't anything problematic. Don't feel bad, puppy. I hate stepping on the scale at my doctor's office for the same reason! LOL

I would love to hear what you think!

