Home » Family » We Must Not Forget

We Must Not Forget

This video was shared this morning and I started watching it. And I started crying. I thought about stopping the video because it was just too painful; the memories of that day just became too raw. But I kept watching because … we can’t forget. We must not forget. It shouldn’t become just a dim memory to us. Watching this should bring back all of the pain we felt that day as we realized what was happening.

So skip watching the video if you must. If you’re anything like me, it will make you cry.

My son texted me last night to remind me to put our flag at half-staff for today. You know, sometimes you don’t realize just what’s on a person’s mind. We know that Jon is preoccupied with girlfriend, work, friends, house, socializing, but we forget that being a proud American and showing that respect has always been important to him. On September 11, 2001 when he came home from school and found out the full extent of what had happened, he insisted on one thing … We already had our American flag flying proud. He thought everyone needed to be flying their flag. What he decided that we had to do was to go buy another American flag and he and his dad went to my mother’s place and mounted it by her door. She didn’t have a flag, he knew it, and he thought that she must fly one.

Is your American flag flying proudly?

14 thoughts on “We Must Not Forget

  1. The tragedy hit hard here in Canada as well as we all felt our hearts drop for those who were lost and for their families . I said a prayer this morning and had a moment of silence for all !

  2. The tragedy hit hard here in Canada as well as we all felt our hearts drop for those who were lost and for their families . I said a prayer this morning and had a moment of silence for all !

  3. It is important to remember, however, what do people do in countries where this is an every day occurence? What does that do to them if it can cause such an emotional response in the states from one incident? What can we do to stop it from happening ever again, anywhere……

  4. It is important to remember, however, what do people do in countries where this is an every day occurence? What does that do to them if it can cause such an emotional response in the states from one incident? What can we do to stop it from happening ever again, anywhere……

  5. We have a flagpole out front,and today we somberly put it half mast. It's a horrible day in our history,and the impact that it had on millions of lives will be long felt. 11 years later and I see the images of the planes hitting the buildings and the buildings crumbling and I still get that same sickening,angry,frightened feeling and am moved to tears. I see my husband and know if it wasn't for that day,he would fine now.Even if folks didn't have family members go to war,they too,were emotionally impacted forever in some way,shape or form. I hope someday it will get better.

  6. We have a flagpole out front,and today we somberly put it half mast. It's a horrible day in our history,and the impact that it had on millions of lives will be long felt. 11 years later and I see the images of the planes hitting the buildings and the buildings crumbling and I still get that same sickening,angry,frightened feeling and am moved to tears. I see my husband and know if it wasn't for that day,he would fine now.Even if folks didn't have family members go to war,they too,were emotionally impacted forever in some way,shape or form. I hope someday it will get better.

  7. I watched until my computer froze. 😦 I feel every year like I have to watch these things to remember and pay tribute.Do you ever see books and movies that came out "before" and have the Trade Center in the skyline. 11 years and one day ago – I never paid attention. Now I find myself running my fingers over it and praying for all of us.Have you ever read anything about Gander, Newfoundland during that week. I love the story – http://youtu.be/gJskIhGbDq4I imagine that you grow numb if it's an everyday occurence. It would be horrible, but how else would you deal?

  8. I watched until my computer froze. 😦 I feel every year like I have to watch these things to remember and pay tribute.Do you ever see books and movies that came out "before" and have the Trade Center in the skyline. 11 years and one day ago – I never paid attention. Now I find myself running my fingers over it and praying for all of us.Have you ever read anything about Gander, Newfoundland during that week. I love the story – http://youtu.be/gJskIhGbDq4I imagine that you grow numb if it's an everyday occurence. It would be horrible, but how else would you deal?

I would love to hear what you think!

