Home » Family » My Boy Scout

My Boy Scout

I once vowed (to myself) to try really hard not to post twice on one day … but here we are. I have things to do, a house half dusted and bookwork to finish, but I find myself thinking about my son and my country and I had to share a little bit more.

In September 2001, my son was 12 and was an active Boy Scout, had been on his first high adventure, had served a week as a Mackinac Island Honor Scout, and had been to the National Boy Scout Jamboree all during the summer months that year.

BOY SCOUT OATH:
On my honor, I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake and morally straight.

Jon took the Boy Scout Oath, Law, Motto, and Slogan very seriously, which is why it was so important to fly that American flag during the weeks after September 11. And it’s still why he notices our flag when he drives by our house on his way home from work.

And it was his group of scouts whose idea it was to make sure that there was a flag raised and lowered during campouts out in our woods by the lodge and camp where Boy and Cub Scouts still camp today.

Jon went on to continue to be active in scouts and became an Eagle Scout. Once an Eagle, always an Eagle.

In his senior year of high school, Jon very seriously considered joining the United States Army. The thought scared me beyond belief. As fate would have it, Jon’s life took a different path, but he is no less loyal to what his country stands for. And for that, I am proud.

One last thing. Jon, who loves that hard, head-banging rock that I just can’t listen to, for a short time loved country music (though he will barely admit it now!).

And this is what started it:

4 thoughts on “My Boy Scout

I would love to hear what you think!

