Home » Antiquing » Antiquing … Again

Antiquing … Again

So what did Jim and I get when we were antiquing last Saturday?

Well, it was nothing exciting but something we had been looking for for months.

Behold! Our new egg scale.

 This was Jim’s idea and every time we saw one it was either out of our price range or in really rough shape. This one was $20 and the graphics were great. The whole thing was coated with a layer of what we think was cooking grease, which is what may have preserved it so well. Jim took on the scary task of cleaning it and it survived very well. For the record, even the smallest of our chickens’ eggs that I had on hand totally topped off the scale!

And this? Sitting with one of my little ink bottles (with my mother of pearl feather shaped pen) and our writing fluid jug is a beautiful little wooden pencil box. The top slides over and there are two spots to keep your pencils. Nothing Little House about it, I guess. I was just so taken by it and Jim said, “Well, why don’t you get it?” I love when he says that!

Not pictured – I also bought some buttons and a small butter mold. Jim was the big money spender this day though. He bought windows. He’s become rather obsessed with looking at windows for a future project(s). I will show you the windows when they are in the completed project. And it might be a while. Jim usually only has time to spend in his woodshop during the winter, even then he sometimes isn’t able to work on his own projects.

Enjoy the beauty of the day … wherever you happen to be!

12 thoughts on “Antiquing … Again

  1. I've never weighed an egg – but does it matter if it's warm or cold, or wet or dry, and how much does the atmosheric conditions affect the weight – daytime vs. nightime, etc.? And once weighed, does it tell you why it weighs that? It might weigh more because the chicken is full of heavy metals or because the yolk is bigger or more mature. Why so many questions? Let's just crack it open and cook it up! šŸ™‚

  2. I've never weighed an egg – but does it matter if it's warm or cold, or wet or dry, and how much does the atmosheric conditions affect the weight – daytime vs. nightime, etc.? And once weighed, does it tell you why it weighs that? It might weigh more because the chicken is full of heavy metals or because the yolk is bigger or more mature. Why so many questions? Let's just crack it open and cook it up! šŸ™‚

  3. LOVE that egg scale! Most eggs these days would top the scale since the chickens have been bred for larger eggs. My mom had some heirloom chickens that laid what we these days considered teeny tiny eggs.Sounds like your hubby is a keeper too. šŸ™‚

  4. LOVE that egg scale! Most eggs these days would top the scale since the chickens have been bred for larger eggs. My mom had some heirloom chickens that laid what we these days considered teeny tiny eggs.Sounds like your hubby is a keeper too. šŸ™‚

  5. I used to collect butter molds. My prize molded about a half pound into a lovely circle with a large rose on top. No idea what happened to it. I may have to shake down my daughters.

  6. I used to collect butter molds. My prize molded about a half pound into a lovely circle with a large rose on top. No idea what happened to it. I may have to shake down my daughters.

I would love to hear what you think!

