Home » Journal » Facebook and Politics

Facebook and Politics

Social media – it’s so good for a number of reasons. Keeping up with family and friends, following news of the day, even promotion of a product. I love to blog and I love to follow facebook. Lately though, it’s constantly been a source of headache and frustration and hurt (not for me but for others). I could go on and on, but I’ll keep it simple. This is what I posted on facebook just now…

So…I’ve
made a decision and we’ll see if I can hold to it. I’m not so much
frustrated by the multitude of political posts (because the civil ones
do help me to learn and I have had a change of heart on some issues),
but more by the meanness of not just the posts but also the comments and
the arguing. I’m a peace loving person and I hate conflict and what I
sometimes see as bullying bothers my heart to no end. I have always
believed that the division and lack of respect really weakens our
country as a whole and makes us look foolish to other countries. I know
I’m saying this in a very simple way, but that’s who I am.
I’m
probably what you would call an active facebooker. I love keeping up
with my far away family and my Laura friends and even my family and
friends close by that I don’t often see. I like to post snarky status
updates and follow what’s going on in the world, share some funny
stories or old songs and my blog posts (and I will probably still do
that). But I’m taking a big step back from facebook till the election is
over. I will still check in occasionally (otherwise I would miss
terribly the babies of facebook!) and I will still follow what’s
happening in my Laura-world on those pages, but my regular facebook will
get a bit of a break. I’m sure some of you will rejoice in that. 🙂
My email address is jlwelser@ymail.com. If you really need me, you can
find me that way. And I will still blog because I like to keep that
simple and happy (for the most part). ♥

What say you? Agree or disagree. But please, I don’t want to hear about your political views. 🙂

*Edited (9/6/12) to add: I ended up deleting this post this morning. It was long and rambling and I felt that it may have been misunderstood. My facebook is mine and yours is yours. If you choose to use yours to talk politics, that’s your choice. I don’t have to agree with you and I certainly don’t hate those whose view I don’t agree with. This is what makes this country great. We can hold different views and we can vote for whichever candidate we want. We are Americans and we are free! Yay!
My husband and I have different political views. We still can (and do) talk politics…without arguing. We respect each others’ views and don’t try to change them. We have often voted for different candidates for president.
The status above was all about the lack of respect, bullying, and just plain mean spiritedness that I’ve seen. And am tired of seeing. I am not giving up facebook completely, but am stepping way back from my time spent there (which was too much anyhow!).

18 thoughts on “Facebook and Politics

  1. hi Laura, thanks for stopping over at my place, always nice to hear from you. I don't do Facebook,twitter or anything other then blogger,that is all that I can handle. I stay away as much as humanly possible from those situations/or commentaries which are nothing but negative. There is so much goodness around us..does anybody notice? Have a great day….Taking a step sometimes in many situations is the thing to do, it is your intuition which is guiding you, your spirit is not aligned with what it is hearing, at least that is how it is for me. Take a step back and reflect, maybe you won't want to go back, or maybe on a limited more constritive basis…:)

  2. hi Laura, thanks for stopping over at my place, always nice to hear from you. I don't do Facebook,twitter or anything other then blogger,that is all that I can handle. I stay away as much as humanly possible from those situations/or commentaries which are nothing but negative. There is so much goodness around us..does anybody notice? Have a great day….Taking a step sometimes in many situations is the thing to do, it is your intuition which is guiding you, your spirit is not aligned with what it is hearing, at least that is how it is for me. Take a step back and reflect, maybe you won't want to go back, or maybe on a limited more constritive basis…:)

  3. I agree. There are a few folks whose fb posts I've hidden, and will not activate again until after the election. (I'm not sure that's all the proper terminology, but I hope you know what I mean.) I do always enjoy EVERYTHING you post though, and I can't say that about many people. You must be a true kindred spirit, and I hope that at the next LP we'll have more time to visit and confirm that theory!

  4. I agree. There are a few folks whose fb posts I've hidden, and will not activate again until after the election. (I'm not sure that's all the proper terminology, but I hope you know what I mean.) I do always enjoy EVERYTHING you post though, and I can't say that about many people. You must be a true kindred spirit, and I hope that at the next LP we'll have more time to visit and confirm that theory!

  5. I don't feel that FB is the venue for political commentaries, at least, that is not why I initially subscribed. I DO love how you can switch posters on and off from appearing on your wall. That said, its interesting to discuss " a break from Fb " – yesterday I deleted my account, a radical move for me as i was an avid FB user right down to "words with friends" addict. But, I'm tired of the posts my sisters put out there about trips and events planned where I have not been invited. I realized I do not have to subject myself to that kind of grief and pain. I have choices, and yesterday I executed one.Already, I'm reading (books) more!

  6. I don't feel that FB is the venue for political commentaries, at least, that is not why I initially subscribed. I DO love how you can switch posters on and off from appearing on your wall. That said, its interesting to discuss " a break from Fb " – yesterday I deleted my account, a radical move for me as i was an avid FB user right down to "words with friends" addict. But, I'm tired of the posts my sisters put out there about trips and events planned where I have not been invited. I realized I do not have to subject myself to that kind of grief and pain. I have choices, and yesterday I executed one.Already, I'm reading (books) more!

  7. Amazing. I just decided to drop out of Facebook. My account is deactivated because I wanted to think about it. I have deactivated my account before. This time I think I will just delete it.

  8. Amazing. I just decided to drop out of Facebook. My account is deactivated because I wanted to think about it. I have deactivated my account before. This time I think I will just delete it.

  9. I keep my fingers quiet about this issue on Facebook. But I watch my friends spit at each other. I'm going to stay a Mouskateer. That's my stance.Hugs and chocolate,Shelly

  10. I keep my fingers quiet about this issue on Facebook. But I watch my friends spit at each other. I'm going to stay a Mouskateer. That's my stance.Hugs and chocolate,Shelly

  11. I try and stay or of it too, some days you just chuckle and move on. I don't read the comments… If one of my friends has something valuable to say, I respect them enough to read what's on their mind. But the comments I just scroll by because that's where it gets snippy. Thank God we only have 2 more months. Lorrie R.

  12. I try and stay or of it too, some days you just chuckle and move on. I don't read the comments… If one of my friends has something valuable to say, I respect them enough to read what's on their mind. But the comments I just scroll by because that's where it gets snippy. Thank God we only have 2 more months. Lorrie R.

  13. Talk about being on the same wavelength! I too, have stepped back from FB because I see too much venom being posted on people's pages…by folks that are suppose to be "friends" no less! This goes for political and social issues .FB is not fun anymore.It increases my anxiety and for my own sake, I had stop using it,at least for now. I don't miss it one bit,and will be talking about it in a later post. You beat me to it!!!! 🙂

  14. Talk about being on the same wavelength! I too, have stepped back from FB because I see too much venom being posted on people's pages…by folks that are suppose to be "friends" no less! This goes for political and social issues .FB is not fun anymore.It increases my anxiety and for my own sake, I had stop using it,at least for now. I don't miss it one bit,and will be talking about it in a later post. You beat me to it!!!! 🙂

I would love to hear what you think!

