Home » Duke » Duker-day and the Empty Nest (maybe)

Duker-day and the Empty Nest (maybe)

Duke here.

My mom says: “I wonder if I should give this whole blog thing up. I mean, I’m not very consistent in my writing. People get tired of that.”

I think she should keep plugging away because someday she’ll get to a point where she will be able to write more often. This IS supposed to be her journal. And mine. She should keep a journal. That’s what I t hink.

So, please don’t abandon her. She’ll come around. I think she’ll need an outlet because it seems that she’s going to be an empty-nester very soon. And I’ll go back to being an only dog (depending on how well Sosha adjusts to condo life).

My mom has been real excited about this for months. She’s so happy that my sister, Jamie, bought a condo. Jamie has been wanting her own place since about a week after she moved back in three years ago. It is a good thing. It is time.

But my mom realized something last night.

This is permanent. My brother owns his own house and my sister owns her own house. This means (God forbid that anything happens) that they’re not coming back. And my Mom (even though she’s happy and excited) is a little sad.

16 thoughts on “Duker-day and the Empty Nest (maybe)

  1. Well Duke you should tell your mom two things:- her blog is great and always a pleasure to read!- your sister will be fine, she needs to have her own life!All will be fine, you will see!

  2. Well Duke you should tell your mom two things:- her blog is great and always a pleasure to read!- your sister will be fine, she needs to have her own life!All will be fine, you will see!

  3. Not to worry Duke. Your mom will be a little down for a few days and then she will start filling up her time with stuff she always wanted to do and never had the time and space to do them in. Maybe even stuff she can do with you.

  4. Not to worry Duke. Your mom will be a little down for a few days and then she will start filling up her time with stuff she always wanted to do and never had the time and space to do them in. Maybe even stuff she can do with you.

  5. lovin duker days! Keep on a bloggin. It is an effort some days, but those days when ya just GOTTA write it down somewhere, its great to have a blog home to do so. and yes, these journals are, prayerfully, a gift one day for our children.

  6. lovin duker days! Keep on a bloggin. It is an effort some days, but those days when ya just GOTTA write it down somewhere, its great to have a blog home to do so. and yes, these journals are, prayerfully, a gift one day for our children.

  7. Keep on blogging ! I am retired and don't have a lot to write about but I do enjoy the posts that I do write and sharing our photos and the people of blog land are awesome they keep me going ! All will work out just give it time !

  8. Keep on blogging ! I am retired and don't have a lot to write about but I do enjoy the posts that I do write and sharing our photos and the people of blog land are awesome they keep me going ! All will work out just give it time !

  9. Aw….the times they are a-changing. I understand your Mom questioning the whole blog writing thing. Sometimes my Motor Mommy questions hers; I heard her talking to Motor Man about it just yesterday. Tell your Mom to hang in there, and I'll get my Mom to do the same!Happy Sunday.Your kitty friend, Sundae

  10. Aw….the times they are a-changing. I understand your Mom questioning the whole blog writing thing. Sometimes my Motor Mommy questions hers; I heard her talking to Motor Man about it just yesterday. Tell your Mom to hang in there, and I'll get my Mom to do the same!Happy Sunday.Your kitty friend, Sundae

  11. When my daughter moved out and we became empty nesters for the first time it was very emotional for me. Then we learned to love it and my daughter moved back in for a few months. The second time she moved out was not nearly as painful as the first! Than a few years later my son and his wife moved in with us for 2 1/2 months while their house was being finished. When they moved out I felt sad like I did the first time! So weird! Can't make up my mind, I guess!

  12. When my daughter moved out and we became empty nesters for the first time it was very emotional for me. Then we learned to love it and my daughter moved back in for a few months. The second time she moved out was not nearly as painful as the first! Than a few years later my son and his wife moved in with us for 2 1/2 months while their house was being finished. When they moved out I felt sad like I did the first time! So weird! Can't make up my mind, I guess!

  13. Both my kids moved home separate times after moving out the first time. It seems to be the way of it now in this economy. But now they both have property that they live in. And I doubt they will move back in again. But I do understand the emotions you are dealing with now. I remember when they both moved back home those times and I was joyful. But I remember after a few months with them at home feeling like this was not how they should be living their lives. And I began to want independence for them again, while still enjoying their company. When they moved out I was happy for them. The house was quiet again. This was how if is supposed to be I thought.Now they are in their 30's. Although they both have their "adult wings", they would still always be welcome if needed. They will always have the option of a roof over their heads in my home as long as I live, but I enjoy my own separate life now, and I am slowing down so added family under my roof would be a stretch for me. And I know that this is the way it is supposed to be. Now take care of myself – and must focus doing a good job of that because I don't want them to have any responsibility for that … it is not the way it is supposed to be!! Life is a cycle. It is funny, I don't think we know that until we live through it.Take a break from blogging. We all do, but come back for you and for us.

  14. Both my kids moved home separate times after moving out the first time. It seems to be the way of it now in this economy. But now they both have property that they live in. And I doubt they will move back in again. But I do understand the emotions you are dealing with now. I remember when they both moved back home those times and I was joyful. But I remember after a few months with them at home feeling like this was not how they should be living their lives. And I began to want independence for them again, while still enjoying their company. When they moved out I was happy for them. The house was quiet again. This was how if is supposed to be I thought.Now they are in their 30's. Although they both have their "adult wings", they would still always be welcome if needed. They will always have the option of a roof over their heads in my home as long as I live, but I enjoy my own separate life now, and I am slowing down so added family under my roof would be a stretch for me. And I know that this is the way it is supposed to be. Now take care of myself – and must focus doing a good job of that because I don't want them to have any responsibility for that … it is not the way it is supposed to be!! Life is a cycle. It is funny, I don't think we know that until we live through it.Take a break from blogging. We all do, but come back for you and for us.

I would love to hear what you think!

