Home » Family » Duker-day…and the horrible week

Duker-day…and the horrible week

Duke here.

As some of you may know, my mom and sister went away for a whole week to something called LauraPalooza. Well, actually it was two weeks, but I got to go to where she was for the second week. That was a good week and I’ll talk about that next week.

But that first week? It was horrible.

I knew something was up when I saw her packing the suitcases. And I know from experience that the suitcases mean that I’m not going. I know that when I’m going on the trip, she packs in the huge thing called a dufflebag . I don’t know why. I just know that suitcases means I’m staying home.

And Sosha shared in my misery.

And she packed both her suitcases and then she packed some extra bags. I knew that this was not good.

My mom wants you to know that behind me is the door to the shop. That’s why it’s so dirty.

Very early that Monday morning, Mom and Jamie got into Jamie’s car…and they were gone. And it was very quiet here. And things just weren’t the same. On top of all that, Dad was very busy and Sosha and I were left home alone for very long days. It was a bad week. Every night Dad talked to Mom and that made me happy. I never got to talk to her, but just knowing that Dad was talking to her made things a little better.

Even if I banged on the front window to be let in, no one was in the house to let me in.

The house was quiet. Not that we got to spend much time in it since we were outside all day. No little breaks in the house like Mom gives us when she’s there. No following Mom to the chicken coop and begging for the treats she gives the chickens. Just Dad. And he was always in a hurry. Especially for the the last couple of days.

Old picture (obviously it didn’t snow while they were gone).
And no one was here to take pictures.

What last couple of days, you ask? The last couple of days before he loaded up the car, opened the door and told us to hop in, and we left! Then the very good week began! And I’ll talk about that next Duker-day.

This is me the last time I took that wonderful trip!

10 thoughts on “Duker-day…and the horrible week

  1. I love this…it is too cute, warm and fuzzy! Duke had/has sad eyes. Laura…he doesn't like to stay at home alone! Lol! Wishing you beautiful weekend!

  2. I love this…it is too cute, warm and fuzzy! Duke had/has sad eyes. Laura…he doesn't like to stay at home alone! Lol! Wishing you beautiful weekend!

I would love to hear what you think!

