Home » Family » Ready or not…

Ready or not…

I’m coming back. I think.

I’ve been gone about two months, right? I didn’t plan it that way. It just happened.

On our way to LauraPalooza 2010

Sometimes I feel as if I have to be entertaining or informative, but what I had to remember is that I started this blog as a journal of sorts. So, while I’m hoping that my day-to-day life is fun to read or teaches a valuable lesson :), I can’t let the pressure to please get to me. Plus, this dang Blogger has been giving me fits. It either tells me that I’m following every blog that I ever followed (even those I long ago stopped following) or none at all. Therefore, I have missed some of your posts. And I miss you.

Here’s a little bit of what’s been going on:

My daughter and I are leaving for Mankato, Minnesota and LauraPalooza on Monday!  While we had planned to go to De Smet, South Dakota and Walnut Grove, Minnesota (two Laura homesites) and I am terribly sad that we’re not, I made the difficult decision to cut those out of the trip. It was the right decision, but that doesn’t make it easier. We are stopping in Pepin, Wisconsin on the way home (Laura’s birthplace) while heading to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan (one of my favorite drives). A few days at Jim’s family cabin in northern Michigan will be a relaxing way to finish off our trip. Jim is hoping to meet us up there with Duke and Sosha and I’m really hoping that it happens.

Ice Cream Social – LauraPalooza 2010
Looking forward to seeing friends that I don’t otherwise get to see
and missing friends who won’t be there…

Although nowhere near where it used to be or should be, business has kept us busy lately. It seems to come in bursts, but no complaints here!

Did you know that by around fall Jim and I will once again be emptynesters? No, of course you didn’t! Jamie bought a condo! Her first home. And we are so very excited for her. It’s a good time to buy and luckily for her, her dad doesn’t mind a little home improvement since the place looks like it stepped right out of the 70s. Jamie’s got some great plans though, and the place will be so cute when it’s done.

So…what else? It’s been incredibly hot here in Michigan, as I’m sure it has been in many other parts of the U.S. It usually doesn’t bother me unless there are several days in a row of hotness. And there have been. We’re in for a slight cool down though. I’ll take 80s.

Jim bought me a little laptop! And I’m taking it on our trip. I might even check in here so look for me.

Be safe, stay cool (if you’re in a hot spot), and I’m excited to be back!

18 thoughts on “Ready or not…

  1. So excited to be getting ready for Laurapalooza. I should be running last minute errands instead of commenting on this! 😉

  2. So excited to be getting ready for Laurapalooza. I should be running last minute errands instead of commenting on this! 😉

  3. I'm so happy that you and Jamie are going to Laurapalooza! Have a safe, exciting, fun and most important – relaxing vacation! Tell Jamie I am so happy that she has purchased a condo and am sure it will be as cute as a button 🙂 And tell he Pa, that doing a little home improvement for her is the nicest thing he could do for a young lady starting out!

  4. I'm so happy that you and Jamie are going to Laurapalooza! Have a safe, exciting, fun and most important – relaxing vacation! Tell Jamie I am so happy that she has purchased a condo and am sure it will be as cute as a button 🙂 And tell he Pa, that doing a little home improvement for her is the nicest thing he could do for a young lady starting out!

  5. I'm VERY glad you are back! I will be able to share your adventures with you from miles away! Sure wish I could go to Laurapalooza, but you will fill me in with all the details! Can't wait to hear more from you! Take care and be safe!Susan from NC

  6. I'm VERY glad you are back! I will be able to share your adventures with you from miles away! Sure wish I could go to Laurapalooza, but you will fill me in with all the details! Can't wait to hear more from you! Take care and be safe!Susan from NC

  7. Attention!!! Attention!!! Are you coming to Walnut Grove on Saturday with the rest of the gang from Laurapalooza? I talked to Melanie (who portrays Laura) today and she said a bunch were coming. I will be there, in costume, demonstrating. I HOPE you are coming!!! If you do, please, please stop and say hi … I will have a chair waiting for you!!!!!

  8. Attention!!! Attention!!! Are you coming to Walnut Grove on Saturday with the rest of the gang from Laurapalooza? I talked to Melanie (who portrays Laura) today and she said a bunch were coming. I will be there, in costume, demonstrating. I HOPE you are coming!!! If you do, please, please stop and say hi … I will have a chair waiting for you!!!!!

  9. Oh Connie…I wish we were. We had planned to stop in Walnut Grove on the way to LauraPalooza so I didn't sign up for the Saturday trip. I really wish we were now so that you and I could see each other!I'll give Melanie a hug to pass on to you!

  10. Oh Connie…I wish we were. We had planned to stop in Walnut Grove on the way to LauraPalooza so I didn't sign up for the Saturday trip. I really wish we were now so that you and I could see each other!I'll give Melanie a hug to pass on to you!

  11. I've never heard of Laurapalooza, but it sounds so wonderful! I would love to go sometime. I hear you, about blogging. It's a love/hate relationship. 🙂 We were empty nesters for awhile and then one came back. We love having her home (she'll be gone again next year), but it's calming to have the house to yourself!

  12. I've never heard of Laurapalooza, but it sounds so wonderful! I would love to go sometime. I hear you, about blogging. It's a love/hate relationship. 🙂 We were empty nesters for awhile and then one came back. We love having her home (she'll be gone again next year), but it's calming to have the house to yourself!

I would love to hear what you think!

