Home » Family » Poetry on Wednesday

Poetry on Wednesday

Where The Wild Things Are
by Maurice Sendak

 I read this book to my son every night for many months way back when, twenty years ago. He loved it.

And now, said Max. “Let the wild rumpus start.”

He especially loved when the wild rumpus started and I would often make different noises as I turned those pages where the rumpusing took place. For some reason, Jon’s favorite seemed to be when I simply said (in a deep un-momma-like voice), “RUMPUS! RUMPUS! RUMPUS!”

But I think his favorite part of the book was:

And into the night of his very own room, he found his supper waiting for him. And it was still hot.

Because Jon loved home and he loved things to be cozy. And what would be cozier than coming back from a wild rumpus and finding a nice warm meal in your very own room?

20 thoughts on “Poetry on Wednesday

  1. Sounds delightful to me. Our daughters favourite was Little Monster and the Zipparumpazus (I may have spelled that wrong). Her favourite line, "good night, sleep tight, don't let the zipparumpazus bite" In fact, she still says it to her little ones.

  2. Sounds delightful to me. Our daughters favourite was Little Monster and the Zipparumpazus (I may have spelled that wrong). Her favourite line, "good night, sleep tight, don't let the zipparumpazus bite" In fact, she still says it to her little ones.

  3. This is my son's favorite book. His name is Max, so he thinks it's about him. We love the part, "and they roared their terrible roars, and gnashed their terrible teeth…" Maurice Sendak gave us so much. I was saddened to hear of his passing.

  4. This is my son's favorite book. His name is Max, so he thinks it's about him. We love the part, "and they roared their terrible roars, and gnashed their terrible teeth…" Maurice Sendak gave us so much. I was saddened to hear of his passing.

  5. That book was sweet. There was someting in the news this morning about this book being Pres. Obama's favorite. Also the author died like 24 hours ago at 83.

  6. That book was sweet. There was someting in the news this morning about this book being Pres. Obama's favorite. Also the author died like 24 hours ago at 83.

  7. OH, happy day! I came home from school to find my LIW book with bookmark/DVD waiting for me. (the one I won) Thanks so much! Just what I needed on this dreary day. Thanks!!!! I can't wait to read it this summer. How do I get in touch with Trinni to let her know it arrived? If you talk to her, tell her how much I love it. Thanks again for a special treat from a special friend.

  8. OH, happy day! I came home from school to find my LIW book with bookmark/DVD waiting for me. (the one I won) Thanks so much! Just what I needed on this dreary day. Thanks!!!! I can't wait to read it this summer. How do I get in touch with Trinni to let her know it arrived? If you talk to her, tell her how much I love it. Thanks again for a special treat from a special friend.

  9. That is a sweet motherhood memory. πŸ™‚ I followed you over here from "Laura's Sweet Memories," my friend Jim's blog, so I will also add that I'll be thinking of you this Mother's Day and hoping it is not too difficult for you. Best Wishes, β™₯Val

  10. That is a sweet motherhood memory. πŸ™‚ I followed you over here from "Laura's Sweet Memories," my friend Jim's blog, so I will also add that I'll be thinking of you this Mother's Day and hoping it is not too difficult for you. Best Wishes, β™₯Val

I would love to hear what you think!

