Home » Family » April…the month that was

April…the month that was

Or…where did April go?

Or…where did the last 23 years go?
My children in March of 1989.
I know that I’ve shared this before,
but it’s my blog so I’m sharing it again 🙂

I’ll have an A to Z Challenge reflections post up in the next week or so, so I won’t go into that right now. Just wanted to update.

Let’s see.

March was a beautiful early spring and April…was not. I suppose April may have been a somewhat normal spring, but March was so unseasonably warm and perfect that it was hard to accept April and the somewhat normal spring weather that she brought with her. Hopefully May will be all blue skies and puffy white clouds and sunshine.

I do want to apologize if I haven’t visited or commented on your beautiful blogs lately. April became “the month that I may have bitten off more than I could chew” month. I’m hoping to do better in May.

It seems we spend a lot of time at funeral homes and funerals lately. A few weeks ago, my husband’s aunt, the last sibling left in my father-in-law’s family, passed away. Last week, we were at the funeral for a long-time family friend. He was the brother to one of Jim’s closest friends, also the brother to my sister-in-law (Jim’s brother’s wife). He was too young (59). Cancer.
And this past weekend my uncle, my father’s only brother, passed away. We will be at the funeral home later and to the funeral tomorrow. I wasn’t close to this uncle, but his death brings to mind so many memories of my father. I wish that we would have had more time. He should have lived to a ripe old age and it makes me so sad that we lost him too soon.

If you visited me and left comments during the Challenge, I will be trying to make the rounds this next week so I promise that I will come visit!

My son had sinus infections twice this month. The second one visited with its friend, the flu. He’s better now. He works long hours and socializes just as a 23 year old might. I think he needs more down time and sleep. He would probably not agree.

My daughter found out that: she’s allergic to wheat, cow’s milk, egg whites, and shrimp at the ripe old age of 31. She also found out that she has an extra bone in her foot that chose to start causing her great pain in the past couple of months. Lots of blood work, x-rays, cortisone shots, and an uncomfortable foot wrap. Lots of adjustment, label reading, and doctor appointments. A couple more tests to rule out any more problems. No surgery. But she’s a wonderful teacher. We knew that, but her evaluation proved it. We remain hopeful that she will be in the same teaching position next year.

Jim and I are good. Duke is good (after a bout with worms) (yuck). Business is either veerry sloow or veerry busy. I guess one sort of balances the other. Somewhat.

I think that’s all she wrote, folks. I may, or may not, take a little time away from blogging to make up for being such a pest in April. Haven’t decided yet.

Have a terrific Tuesday!

8 thoughts on “April…the month that was

  1. I am sorry for your losses . Hope your kids bounce back ok ! We found out a few years ago our oldest 23 now is allergic to Turkey other then that they seem to be ok !

  2. I am sorry for your losses . Hope your kids bounce back ok ! We found out a few years ago our oldest 23 now is allergic to Turkey other then that they seem to be ok !

  3. Gosh, it's no fun to have any one pass away but you've just been inundated with it and I'm so sorry!Glad all is getting back to 'normal' (whatever that is) after the challenge-give yourself time to rest and get caught up on life!

  4. Gosh, it's no fun to have any one pass away but you've just been inundated with it and I'm so sorry!Glad all is getting back to 'normal' (whatever that is) after the challenge-give yourself time to rest and get caught up on life!

I would love to hear what you think!

