Home » A - Z Challenge » Home

Home

My theme for the A to Z Challenge is Laura Ingalls Wilder. Laura Ingalls Wilder was the author of the Little House books and there was a television series very loosely based on the books. I began reading the books when I was eleven years old (which even I have a hard time believing is over 40 years ago!). If you would like to read about my feelings about Laura, visit this site. I have also listed helpful sites and blogs in my sidebar if you would like to learn more.

I’m sadly behind so I will try to be quick and catch up. Sorry.

H is for Home

 Waking next morning was happier than Christmas. “Oh, I’m at home!” Laura thought. She called, “Carrie! Good morning! Wake up, sleepyhead!” She almost laughed with joy as she shivered into her dress and skipped downstairs to button her shoes and comb her hair in the warming kitchen where Ma was getting breakfast.
“Good morning, Ma!” she sang.
“Good morning,” Ma smiled. “I declare you look better already.”
“It’s nice to be home,” Laura said, “Now what shall I do first?”
                                               -The Long Winter,
Chapter 11: Jingle Bells
                                                 by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Laura lived in many homes during her lifetime.

Over the past five years, I have been lucky enough to have visited six of them. My dream vacation is to visit all of the Laura Ingalls Wilder homesites (and the Wilder Farm in Malone, NY) in one leisurely trip!

There is one home that Laura lived in that I want. I love it and I want to live in it.

The Rock House
It’s the cutest house, isn’t it?
Rose had this house built for her parents and it is acutally
where Laura began writing the Little House books.

**Join me and many other Laura fans at LauraPalooza 2012 (the
second-ever Laura Ingalls Wilder Conference), which will be held July
12-14, 2012, in Mankato, Minnesota. For more information visit Beyond Little House and look for the heading “LauraPalooza 2012”. The pull down menu will have all of the information that you are looking for!**

6 thoughts on “Home

  1. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Rock House! I could move in tomorrow!Did you know that Cheryl Palmlund in De Smet has built herself a replica? I drove past it last year, it's adorable too.

  2. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Rock House! I could move in tomorrow!Did you know that Cheryl Palmlund in De Smet has built herself a replica? I drove past it last year, it's adorable too.

  3. That would be my dream trip also. Someday I will get to all of them, though not in one trip. Walnut Grove (the last day of Laurapalooza) will be the first.

  4. That would be my dream trip also. Someday I will get to all of them, though not in one trip. Walnut Grove (the last day of Laurapalooza) will be the first.

I would love to hear what you think!

