Home » A - Z Challenge » Gingerbread

Gingerbread

My theme for the A to Z Challenge is Laura Ingalls Wilder. Laura Ingalls Wilder was the author of the Little House books and there was a television series very loosely based on the books. I began reading the books when I was eleven years old (which even I have a hard time believing is over 40 years ago!). If you would like to read about my feelings about Laura, visit this site. I have also listed helpful sites and blogs in my sidebar if you would like to learn more.

G is for Gingerbread.

Do you know that Laura Ingalls Wilder was famous for her gingerbread? She was. I was never a big fan of gingerbread, but as I’ve gotten older I’ve developed a taste for it. I’ve never made any other gingerbread but Laura’s. And always with powdered sugar sprinkled over the top.

I use her recipe from this cookbook:

If you don’t happen to have the cookbook, let me direct you to Laura’s Sweet Memories which includes the gingerbread recipe along with a lovely picture. Now, Laura’s recipe in the cookbook calls for 1 cup of molasses (which I’ve always used) and Rev. Jim’s calls for 1/2 cup of molasses. I wonder what the difference makes in the taste.

I may have to make some gingerbread now.

Have a good G-day!

 **Join me and many other Laura fans at LauraPalooza 2012 (the
second-ever Laura Ingalls Wilder Conference), which will be held July
12-14, 2012, in Mankato, Minnesota. For more information visit Beyond Little House and look for the heading “LauraPalooza 2012”. The pull down menu will have all of the information that you are looking for!**

10 thoughts on “Gingerbread

  1. There is an amazing Gingerbread house display every Christmas holiday season at the Grove Park Inn in Asheville, NC – from student work to true masterpieces. But I love a thick cakey piece of gingerbread with real whipped cream.

  2. Nice to meet another Laura fan! I have a dear friend who is very involved in all things Laura. I'll direct her here. I'm guessing your paths may have crossed before, she's part of a lot of different groups and has spent her teaching career and now retirement involved in these pursuits. Her name is Connie, just FYI.I hope you're enjoying the challenge.Tina @ Life is GoodCo-Host of the April A to Z Challenge Twitter: @AprilA2Z #atozchallenge

  3. I've never had gingerbread, just gingerbread men. :)I've enjoyed catching up on your posts, esp the ones with the hens. We have chicks and I am really getting attached. I look forward to having fresh eggs, hopefully soon!Happy Easter!

  4. I loved those books! I had no idea there was a cookbook. Thank you so much for posting this. Now I'm on a mission to find the cookbook!I found you on the A to Z sing up list. It's nice to meet you.

  5. Stopping by on my way through the A-Z Challenge. I was a big fan of Laura Ingalls Wilder. Read and re-read her books starting when I was seven years old and up into my teens. She inspired me to become a writer as I'm sure she has inspired many. My own writing interests have spun off in the direction of science fiction and fantasy however, but it all began on a prairie I guess you could say. Interestingly enough, I now live on the prairie up in northern Montana just bordering on the edge of the Rocky Mountains.

  6. I love making Laura's Gingerbread every February for her birthday! The only difference that I have found in all the variations of her recipe is adding one beaten egg as she wrote in the 1953 Horn Book recipe and which is omitted in the LIW Cookbook. Have you found a difference in the taste or outcome?

I would love to hear what you think!

