Home » A - Z Challenge » Eggs

Eggs

My theme for the A to Z Challenge is Laura Ingalls Wilder. Laura Ingalls Wilder was the author of the Little House books and there was a television series very loosely based on the books. I began reading the books when I was eleven years old (which even I have a hard time believing is over 40 years ago!). If you would like to read about my feelings about Laura, visit this site. I have also listed helpful sites and blogs in my sidebar if you would like to learn more.

E is for eggs

Laura’s hand felt gently over the sleeping chicks, huddled together in a corner of the coop. Then she stood looking at the summer night. She did not know how long she had stood there, until she saw Ma coming from the house.

“Oh, there you are Laura,” Ma softly said. As Laura had done, she knelt and put her hand through the coop’s door to fell the huddled chicks. The she, too, stood looking.

“The place begins to look like a farm,” she said. The oatfield and the cornfield were shadowy pale in the darkness, and the garden was bumpy with lumps of dark leaves. Like pools of faint star-shine among them spread the cucumber vines and pumpkins. The low sod stable could hardly be seen, but from the house window a warm yellow light shone out.

                                              -Little Town on the Prairie, Chapter 7: Nine Dollars
                                                by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Did you know that, on Rocky Ridge Farm, Laura Ingalls Wilder was well known for her chickens and was able to get her hens to lay eggs even during the winter?

Here’s my little connection with Laura – my chickens!
Ida, Alice, Minnie, Lena, and Hetty
They give us five (sometimes four) beautiful brown eggs every day!

Have a Happy E-day!

 **Join me and many other Laura fans at LauraPalooza 2012 (the
second-ever Laura Ingalls Wilder Conference), which will be held July
12-14, 2012, in Mankato, Minnesota. For more information visit Beyond Little House and look for the heading “LauraPalooza 2012”. The pull down menu will have all of the information that you are looking for!**

24 thoughts on “Eggs

  1. I'm also a mother of grown kids, and I live in the country. Found you on the A-Z challenge, and happy to be a new follower. It's fun to be finding "rural" types or "rural types at heart" this year in the challenge.

  2. I'm also a mother of grown kids, and I live in the country. Found you on the A-Z challenge, and happy to be a new follower. It's fun to be finding "rural" types or "rural types at heart" this year in the challenge.

  3. Love your A to Z Challenge theme. There's incredible wonder and beauty in the Little House books–read them about 10,000 times when I was a kid. I try to live like Laura, too, simple and straightforward and filled with love. See you around the challenge!

  4. Love your A to Z Challenge theme. There's incredible wonder and beauty in the Little House books–read them about 10,000 times when I was a kid. I try to live like Laura, too, simple and straightforward and filled with love. See you around the challenge!

I would love to hear what you think!

