Home » Laura Ingalls Wilder » Duker-day…And Laura Ingalls Wilder

Duker-day…And Laura Ingalls Wilder

Duke here…

I had a not so good day here Thursday.

Apparently it is frowned upon, in this family, to cross one’s underground fence (in the back of the property, people, not in the front!) and tree a raccoon. And then get so wrapped up in the situation as to not be able to listen when your dad is very sternly calling you away.

And…

Apparently it is frowned upon, in this family, to eat out of the kitty litter box (especially if they’re still upset about the raccoon thing). I don’t know how they find out. They always say, “Duke! You have gray gravel on your nose!” What does gray gravel have to do with anything?

Sheesh.

Anyhow, now my mom tells me that I’m taking a blog break in April. She said that it had nothing to do with Thursday’s incident, but I’m not so sure. She says that she’s doing the April A to Z Challenge. What the heck is that? She says that she’s writing about Laura Ingalls Wilder. Well, I’ve heard that name around here. A lot. As long as I’ve been alive. If my mom and dad go away and it doesn’t have anything to do with their work then it has to do with Laura Ingalls Wilder. Now she’s going to take away my blogging privileges so she can write about her.

Sheesh.

I guess I should accept it. I mean I’m not going anywhere and Laura Ingalls Wilder isn’t going anywhere. My mom keeps talking about going away this summer to LauraPalooza. She gets pretty excited sometimes too. My mom spends a lot of time on some website that is all about Laura Ingalls Wilder…some days too much time for my liking. I think it’s time for me to see what all the hype is about.

My mom told me that there’s mention of a dog named Shep
at the very end of this book, so I’ll keep reading.

 My mom told me that there’s a read-along of this very book over at Beyond Little House (that place where she spends a lot of time). I thought maybe I could cover a chapter, but my mom said that they’re all taken. Darn. This book is pretty good!

10 thoughts on “Duker-day…And Laura Ingalls Wilder

  1. Parents are the worst about coming up with all these bizarre rules out of nowhere! We'll miss you Duke but you just keep reading and the month will pass quickly. Keep your nose clean!

  2. Parents are the worst about coming up with all these bizarre rules out of nowhere! We'll miss you Duke but you just keep reading and the month will pass quickly. Keep your nose clean!

  3. Hey Duker:Sir Poops here:What our parents don't understand, is that cat boxes hold many different flavors of chocolate. It's all good.Anyway, my Mummsy is doing the A to Z thing to but over at http://secondhandshoesnovel.blogspot.com/And today I named you one of the Hot Dogs of Blogs.I hope your day gets better. And I hope you're not having bladder problems. Diapers are the worst.Sir Poops

  4. Hey Duker:Sir Poops here:What our parents don't understand, is that cat boxes hold many different flavors of chocolate. It's all good.Anyway, my Mummsy is doing the A to Z thing to but over at http://secondhandshoesnovel.blogspot.com/And today I named you one of the Hot Dogs of Blogs.I hope your day gets better. And I hope you're not having bladder problems. Diapers are the worst.Sir Poops

I would love to hear what you think!

