Home » Family » Poetry on Wednesday

Poetry on Wednesday

There are different versions of the following poem (nursery rhyme, actually), but this is the one I would sing to my son when he was a little guy…

Diddle, diddle, dumpling, my son John,
Went to bed with his trousers on;
One shoe off, and one shoe on,
Diddle, diddle, dumpling my son John
Wishing my son, Jon, the happiest of birthdays!
It’s a lucky thing you were a boy –
Gigi (my mom) wanted us to name you Spring
if you were a girl!
 Finding it hard to believe that it’s been 23 years since I gave birth to the baby of the family!

8 thoughts on “Poetry on Wednesday

  1. Happy Birthday Jon! I remember that ditty – we used to say it when I was young. I only remembered the part about the one shoe off one shoe on – I'd forgotten about the trousers 😀

  2. Happy Birthday Jon! I remember that ditty – we used to say it when I was young. I only remembered the part about the one shoe off one shoe on – I'd forgotten about the trousers 😀

I would love to hear what you think!

