Home » Duke » Duker-day…My week

Duker-day…My week

Duke here. Since my mom hasn’t been back to talk about her week, I’ll tell you about mine.

Sunday – My mom and dad left. Their car was full of stuff for this convention, plus they had two suitcases, a cooler, computer bag, brief cases. I was really worried about just how long they’d be gone.

Sunday night – My sister was here with us so it wouldn’t be too lonely all the time and she feeds us and she’s here at night. It’s just not the same without mom and dad. We all went to bad and the smoke detector downstairs started telling us that it’s battery was low. Apparently it’s true what they say about changing the batteries in your smoke detectors when the time changes. It doesn’t just beep, it talks and I didn’t like it. I spent the night under Jamie’s desk. She wasn’t as bothered by it and waited till morning to change the battery.

Monday – When my mom isn’t here, Sosha and I have to spend the day outside while Jamie is at work. What used to be our doghouse is now the henhouse. We’re not thrilled with that. It rained all day. There are plenty of places to go here (sheds, shops, and even dog beds on the covered front porch), but we’re dogs and we got wet. At least we got to go in the house and dry off when Jamie came home from work. Mom and Dad still didn’t come home. At least it didn’t storm until night time.

Tuesday – Another day outside and another day without Mom and Dad. This is not fun. Even watching the chickens is getting to be boring.

Wednesday – I’m really worried about where Mom and Dad are. They said they’d be back in a few days and it feels like weeks have gone by. Jamie is home sick and Sosha and I stay outside all day. We don’t want to be in the house with a sicky anyhow. Yuck.
The whole day goes by and then…Mom and Dad’s car pulls in the driveway. I was so happy that I don’t think my tail could have wagged much faster!
Those suitcases got unpacked and I hope I don’t see my mom packing those up for a long time.
Can you believe Sosha and I got in trouble? My mom took care of the chickens and collected eggs, then had to run over to Jon’s house to check on things and take care of his cats. Instead of taking the eggs back in the house (like she should have), she set them in a box in the garage. Sosha saw her do it. And Mom thought we had the willpower to leave those eggs along? She was not happy when she came back and all the eggs were gone. It was almost worth it. They were good.

Thursday – Mom was home almost all day! Yay! She was busy doing something she calls “catching up”. She only left to take care of Jon’s cats again. It felt like things were just right again.

Friday – Mom and Dad left early in the morning again. They were driving Jon’s car and she promised they’d be back in a couple of hours. Sosha and I didn’t know what to think!
A few hours later, Jon’s car pulled in the driveway. And Jon and Brittany were in it! Mom and Dad picked them up from the airport. They had gone to someplace called California for something called a vacation. We don’t see them every day, but it feels good to have them close by again.
Mom and Dad brought Sosha and I each a piece of sausage. When they go to breakfast, they always bring us a treat. And it was good!

Saturday – I think things are back to “normal”. Whatever that is.

The snow is all gone here. Wonder if it’ll be back…
16 thoughts on “Duker-day…My week

  1. awww, Dukey, don't you so dislike when the humans are gone? I do not like being home by myself; it scares me. I have Angel-Kitty my sister and she keeps me good company!Hurricane…

  2. awww, Dukey, don't you so dislike when the humans are gone? I do not like being home by myself; it scares me. I have Angel-Kitty my sister and she keeps me good company!Hurricane…

  3. Dear Duker:Sir Poops and Hair Ball here. Daddy-o pulled out his suitcases the other day. He also took Mummsy shopping the other night. She came back with a new pair of shoes and a purse. They're talking New York City again. We know what that means?Maybe you can come visit us when they're gone. Have a party of sorts.Anyway, me, Sir Poops is still having tummy troubles. Last night Mummsy gave me baby food for dinner. And it was actually good.Well, we gotta go do our business now.Very truly yours,Sir Poops and Hair Ball

  4. Dear Duker:Sir Poops and Hair Ball here. Daddy-o pulled out his suitcases the other day. He also took Mummsy shopping the other night. She came back with a new pair of shoes and a purse. They're talking New York City again. We know what that means?Maybe you can come visit us when they're gone. Have a party of sorts.Anyway, me, Sir Poops is still having tummy troubles. Last night Mummsy gave me baby food for dinner. And it was actually good.Well, we gotta go do our business now.Very truly yours,Sir Poops and Hair Ball

  5. It's so sad when your family goes away and ruins the schedules you are so used to. Peanut gets so nervous when we start packing but feels a little better when we pull her suitcase out. She usually goes with us, which is nice for all of us. And when she can't go, she goes to the 'Holiday Inn' – her second favorite place to be (my sister's home). Enjoy your people now that they are home .. and stay away from the eggs.

  6. It's so sad when your family goes away and ruins the schedules you are so used to. Peanut gets so nervous when we start packing but feels a little better when we pull her suitcase out. She usually goes with us, which is nice for all of us. And when she can't go, she goes to the 'Holiday Inn' – her second favorite place to be (my sister's home). Enjoy your people now that they are home .. and stay away from the eggs.

I would love to hear what you think!

