Home » Home » Poetry on Wednesday

Poetry on Wednesday

This really isn’t poetry and I just took it off of Hartwick Pines Logging Museum’s facebook status, but I got nothing for today and I loved this quote. It’s appropriate and, even though we’re having a weird sapping season (after a nearly non-existent winter), it is what’s going on here…

The 19th century naturalist John Burroughs said it best about this time of year: “A sap-run is the sweet good-by to winter. It is the fruit of the equal marriage of the sun and the frost.”
–from his book “Signs and Seasons,” 1886.

4 thoughts on “Poetry on Wednesday

  1. That is a nice quote. I know absolutely nothing about sap or syrup (except how to put in on my French Toast!). I love reading about all the different activities/lifestyles of my blogging friends.Have a good day!

  2. A very nice quote – it's really wonderful reading about all your activities, so different from anything we can do here. I don't know if there is a single tree in the state of california where I could get sap – maybe Lake Tahoe? In a really cold winter?…I love reading your blog, have a very wonderful day Laura.

I would love to hear what you think!

