Home » Duke » Duker-day…And A Possum

Duker-day…And A Possum

Or is it opossum? I never know. But really…I’m a dog, so what do I care?

Duke here again.

Not much going on here this week. I did catch a possum last night. No pictures. My mom isn’t too thrilled when I do these things. She does say that it’s better than messing with something called a skunk. Whatever that is.

Anyhow, my mom and dad were leaving to go out last night and noticed that, in the sixty seconds it took them to walk to the garage, get in  the car, and back out of the garage, I had caught a possum (I’m good like that). Sosha wanted it and tried to take it away, but I would not let go. My mom called my human-sister to look out the window because she thought she’d share the joy of possum-catching. Jamie was not thrilled. Usually my dad makes me get away from those things. But they just left me with it! Cool!

Hah! Jamie. Spoilsport. Made us leave it and come back in the house.

I don’t understand this. I leave the possum in a spot where I’ll remember…and it’s gone when I go back. Happens every time.

Do they come back to life or something? Weird.

Edited to add (by Laura): No possums (or opossums) were killed during this event. They simply play “dead” until Duke leaves them alone and then will slowly come back to life, get up and saunter off. We have seen it happen every time. And that is why the possum is never where Duke left it!

14 thoughts on “Duker-day…And A Possum

  1. Way to go Duke ! Last summer we caught one in a catch and release trap . I took the big guy to the woods and let him go, I figured he would run for the hills but took his sweet time had a look around and waddled off ! I didnt get photos of him either wish I had he was cute ! Have a great weekend !

  2. Way to go Duke ! Last summer we caught one in a catch and release trap . I took the big guy to the woods and let him go, I figured he would run for the hills but took his sweet time had a look around and waddled off ! I didnt get photos of him either wish I had he was cute ! Have a great weekend !

  3. A friend found 4 baby possums and gave them to my brother when we just kids. They were kinda cute when they were little. After a few days they disappeared, but I rather think it was our mother than our dog.

  4. A friend found 4 baby possums and gave them to my brother when we just kids. They were kinda cute when they were little. After a few days they disappeared, but I rather think it was our mother than our dog.

  5. Daisy and Cappie would not know what to do with a possum, though plenty of them meander through their yard. I think Daisy would play dead instead of the possum.

  6. Daisy and Cappie would not know what to do with a possum, though plenty of them meander through their yard. I think Daisy would play dead instead of the possum.

I would love to hear what you think!

