Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings…And The Short Rant

Monday Musings…And The Short Rant

As is often my way, I have written a long rant and have decided not to post it.

Why?

I just can’t say what I want to say in the way that I want to say it. So I’ll just say it in a simple way.

I have read here and there, but mostly on facebook, how Whitney Houston deserved to die because she was an addict. I find this disturbing on so many levels. I ask: Who (in their right mind) would, by choice,  become addicted to…anything? Look in my parentheses. In their right mind. Exactly. People who have addictions are not in their right mind. Something isn’t connecting the way it should. There are those who face a lifelong battle with addiction. For some it’s a losing battle. And that’s so sad. Heartbreaking.

Compassion. It’s a wonderful trait that many (including me) have a hard time practicing.

14 thoughts on “Monday Musings…And The Short Rant

  1. I always say "There but for the Grace of God go I". It is heartless to think that an addiction is something that you can just STOP at will and if you don't you are weak and selfish.

  2. I always say "There but for the Grace of God go I". It is heartless to think that an addiction is something that you can just STOP at will and if you don't you are weak and selfish.

  3. Addiction is a hard thing to understand unless you or someone you love has it. The problem I have with the Whitney situation is her family. In interviews they act like nothing was wrong with her. That is enabling an addict. They needed to intervene. Nobody deserves to die – how wrong for people to say something like that.

  4. Addiction is a hard thing to understand unless you or someone you love has it. The problem I have with the Whitney situation is her family. In interviews they act like nothing was wrong with her. That is enabling an addict. They needed to intervene. Nobody deserves to die – how wrong for people to say something like that.

  5. No one deserves to die whether an addict or not ! These people that said this really need to wake up and get a hold of reality and get their heads out of their butts or get out of their bubble more often to put it kindly whitch on a subject like this I find it hard to hold my tongue ! You go girl ! Have a great day !

  6. No one deserves to die whether an addict or not ! These people that said this really need to wake up and get a hold of reality and get their heads out of their butts or get out of their bubble more often to put it kindly whitch on a subject like this I find it hard to hold my tongue ! You go girl ! Have a great day !

  7. Laura, your post gave me goosebumps. Gosh, you hit the nail on the head with this one.I don't Facebook, so I don't know what's being said "out there" but I can safely say no one "deserves" this kind of death. Your compassion can be felt deeply in your writing…even if you weren't able to give us the long version.Hugs, Jenny @ Pearson ReportCo-Host of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge.Twitter: @AprilA2Z

  8. Laura, your post gave me goosebumps. Gosh, you hit the nail on the head with this one.I don't Facebook, so I don't know what's being said "out there" but I can safely say no one "deserves" this kind of death. Your compassion can be felt deeply in your writing…even if you weren't able to give us the long version.Hugs, Jenny @ Pearson ReportCo-Host of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge.Twitter: @AprilA2Z

  9. Whitney Houston had a great voice in her prime. I think she was basically a good person – and I am sad that she died. If it was drugs or natural, no-one "deserves" to die. If I were to say that makes me a god and I don't have the power to say who "deserves" death. I am unhappy that she is gone but I am also unhappy that people are making her life and her death more important than our soldiers who are dying and THEY don't deserve to die! Let's get our priorities right, people! Be sad a celebrity is dead but be sadder that our soldiers are dying and make a big deal of THEM! (Of course I know I'm preaching to the choir, here!)

  10. Whitney Houston had a great voice in her prime. I think she was basically a good person – and I am sad that she died. If it was drugs or natural, no-one "deserves" to die. If I were to say that makes me a god and I don't have the power to say who "deserves" death. I am unhappy that she is gone but I am also unhappy that people are making her life and her death more important than our soldiers who are dying and THEY don't deserve to die! Let's get our priorities right, people! Be sad a celebrity is dead but be sadder that our soldiers are dying and make a big deal of THEM! (Of course I know I'm preaching to the choir, here!)

I would love to hear what you think!

