Home » Family » Monday’s Musings…And The Story of Ginger

Monday’s Musings…And The Story of Ginger

My son bought me this wreath for Christmas a couple of years ago…

There was a reason. Well, besides the fact that I do have a small collection of gingerbread people in my kitchen, it was that this familiar gingerbread boy and girl adorned this particular wreath that prompted Jon to buy it for me when he spotted it at our local mall. He was reminded of a very similar, but slightly more worn out, gingerbread friend from his childhood.

You see Ginger and Spice (the gingerbread boy and girl dolls on the wreath) were sold at Christmas time around about 1991 at Target. I thought they were so cute and bought them both to display at Christmastime. After Christmas that year, they were safely packed away with the other decorations. When I started decorating for the Christmas season in 1992, Jon was helping me (as only a three year old boy can) and spotted Ginger and Spice. He took Ginger who immediately became his best friend. It was funny to me because Jon just never became attached to any stuffed animal or toy in all of his 3 1/2 years. Why now? Maybe it would have only lasted for the holiday season had it been any other Christmas. It was not any other Christmas though.

Jon and Ginger getting geared up for some pressing work that needed doing.

A week before Christmas, my dad suffered a stroke. My parents were living in Florida and had actually been preparing to leave to come and spend the holidays with us in Michigan when it happened. My sister and I took the soonest flight we could get out on and flew down to be with him. We were hoping for…well what we were hoping for just wasn’t to be.

I did know one thing within a very few days. We would not be home for Christmas and, added to everything that was happening, I just couln’t bear the thought of being away from Jim, Jamie and Jon on Christmas day. I begged, cried and pleaded until Jim agreed to drive to Florida with the kids. He’s a saint, really.

And my dad passed away the morning after they arrived, the 23rd of December 1992. And Christmas would never be the same for our family. We did have a very sad, but necessary Christmas that year. Our dad would not want us not to have Christmas, that I know for sure.

I think that is the main reason that Jon became more attached to Ginger. It was a lot for a little boy to handle at that time and maybe Ginger was his shoulder to cry on. I don’t know. I only know that he and Ginger were pretty close friends until Jon started preschool. Even then, Ginger would wait patiently for Jon. He still does. I secretly packed Ginger in with Jon’s things when he moved to California and again when he bought his own house. Ginger’s still there. A little worse for wear, but still there.

Jon and Ginger played hard and sometimes just couldn’t
quite make it into bed before they both fell asleep.

6 thoughts on “Monday’s Musings…And The Story of Ginger

  1. Hi Laura i came across your blog a few days ago when reading Ash Farm blog. I was attempting to clean our adorable daughters teenage bedroom last week, well to be honest, i walked in and then immediatly walked out! As i looked at the floor, i found Ted, her teddy i bought our milly on her second christmas, i picked him up and cuddled him for a brief moment and i could smell my little girl on him.My husband lost his brother ten days before christmas last year, i guess you have to reclaim christmas after you lose a loved one so near the time, accept that its not ever going to be the same but allow it to be different. jackie x

  2. Hi Laura i came across your blog a few days ago when reading Ash Farm blog. I was attempting to clean our adorable daughters teenage bedroom last week, well to be honest, i walked in and then immediatly walked out! As i looked at the floor, i found Ted, her teddy i bought our milly on her second christmas, i picked him up and cuddled him for a brief moment and i could smell my little girl on him.My husband lost his brother ten days before christmas last year, i guess you have to reclaim christmas after you lose a loved one so near the time, accept that its not ever going to be the same but allow it to be different. jackie x

I would love to hear what you think!

