Home » Simple Sunday » Simple Sunday – Christmas Edition

Simple Sunday – Christmas Edition

Two days before Christmas, in 1992, my father passed away. Our lives were forever changed. Christmas was forever changed. We pretended Christmas for the little ones that year, but we didn’t celebrate it.

They had been living in Florida and my mother was still living there the following Christmas and no one really felt like having Christmas.

Jim and I decided to take our kids and go to his family cabin in northern Michigan. It was quiet, we only took a few presents up for the kids (Jon was only four), we had a tiny tree and made our own decorations.

We decided it was about the best Christmas we had ever had.

My kids next to our baby Christmas tree – 1993.
Yes, my son is clad in only his unders and his and his sister’s Christmas stockings!

My dad would never have wanted us to be sad at Christmas. I try to remember that every year.

Making good memories out of sadness,

14 thoughts on “Simple Sunday – Christmas Edition

  1. Sometimes life is not easy, I can understand that very well. I had my share of losses in the family but we still gather for Xmas since we know how precious each moment is.

  2. Sometimes life is not easy, I can understand that very well. I had my share of losses in the family but we still gather for Xmas since we know how precious each moment is.

  3. Both of my parents have passed now and yes I agree with mybabyjohn/Delores Christmas isnt the same with out your parents ! My father was more excited then us kids at Christmas my mum oh how I miss her baking and cooking at Christmas time ! Have a good day !

  4. Both of my parents have passed now and yes I agree with mybabyjohn/Delores Christmas isnt the same with out your parents ! My father was more excited then us kids at Christmas my mum oh how I miss her baking and cooking at Christmas time ! Have a good day !

  5. Aw, I'm glad you were able to enjoy Christmas that year – and it sounds as though it was the perfect kind of Christmas.Long story: my husband was a widower when we married, and his first wife's mother was all alone. We were very close to her – I took her grocery shopping, to the hairdressers, the doctors, etc. She died on Christmas Eve in 2007 at 90. It is difficult to deal with a death at anytime, but especially so at Christmas.Love the picture!

  6. Aw, I'm glad you were able to enjoy Christmas that year – and it sounds as though it was the perfect kind of Christmas.Long story: my husband was a widower when we married, and his first wife's mother was all alone. We were very close to her – I took her grocery shopping, to the hairdressers, the doctors, etc. She died on Christmas Eve in 2007 at 90. It is difficult to deal with a death at anytime, but especially so at Christmas.Love the picture!

  7. Perhaps a very special angel could be added each year to your tree – for your family to remember that "dad" is certainly still with you in memory..the love he gave you remains…the love never leaves.

  8. Perhaps a very special angel could be added each year to your tree – for your family to remember that "dad" is certainly still with you in memory..the love he gave you remains…the love never leaves.

I would love to hear what you think!

