Home » Monday Musings » Monday’s Musings…

Monday’s Musings…

What’s on my mind today?

Christmas and all of it’s preparations. Shopping, wrapping, baking, decorating, cleaning and cooking. Oh, and let’s not forget Christmas cards. Last year I surprised myself by really having no problem being in the Christmas spirit. With last year being the first Christmas without my mom, I thought it would be so sad, but I felt as if I was channeling her. I had the energy to get everything done and then some. For the first time ever, I made my own cards and vowed to make them every year.

Fast forward to this year.

I feel as if I’m just going through the motions. I’m not sad or depressed, just not fully in the Christmas spirit. The house is decorated and I’ve got a good chunk of my shopping done. I have got to start wrapping and think about the baking. And Christmas cards? Jim had a great idea for something I could do this year, but we just never followed through. I just don’t have that umph that I had last year. Jim’s thinks my problem is the weather. Mild temps and the snow that we have had hasn’t “stuck” around very long. Or maybe I just need to snap out of it!

Last year’s tree. Haven’t taken a picture of this year’s yet.

On this date, 125 years ago, Rose Wilder Lane was born. If you’re a fan of Laura Ingalls Wilder and her Little House books, you’ll already know that Rose is the daughter of Almanzo and Laura. I posted something short and sweet over at Beyond Little House. I have always loved what Laura wrote about her Rose in December. Rev. Jim over at Laura’s Sweet Memories wrote about Rose as did Cheryl at timepie by the slice.
I enjoyed reading what they wrote much more than anything I could have written myself. So, if you’re interested check them out.

I generally avoid talking about religion and politics. We’re not all going to agree and some people love to discuss. I’m not one of them. I haven’t been going to church lately. I know why and I don’t know why. It’s not about  my faith. My faith is strong. I think I would feel better if I just started going again, but the longer I stay away, the harder it is to go back. My religion is not perfect, but it’s what I am, what I’ve always been. I don’t really want to have a discussion about it, just wanted to get it out there. Maybe it’ll get me back to church.

One more thing. Firstly, I love my daughter. She was with me first. She is a main reason that I am who I am. But I just have to say that having your adult child move back in with you is not always fun. It’s not always bad, but it’s not always fun. I would venture to say that she feels exactly the same.

The end.

…who is procrastinating going out
to clean the chicken house in the rain.
10 thoughts on “Monday’s Musings…

  1. It always takes me a while to get into the Christmas spirit, I guess because I worry too much about money. I identified a lot with everything you mentioned in this post 🙂

  2. It always takes me a while to get into the Christmas spirit, I guess because I worry too much about money. I identified a lot with everything you mentioned in this post 🙂

  3. I haven't found the spirit to decorate, shop, or do any of it yet. It's been a strange kind of year for me. I understand what you are saying about having an adult daughter move back in. I've done it before and yes, it is difficult.

  4. I haven't found the spirit to decorate, shop, or do any of it yet. It's been a strange kind of year for me. I understand what you are saying about having an adult daughter move back in. I've done it before and yes, it is difficult.

  5. My No-No is moving back in with us next week. ***roll my eyes*** No, it's not easy but she's been unemployed since March and has been looking everyday for work. Nothing. She's been at a homeless shelter for a month now. Her time will be up next week.

  6. My No-No is moving back in with us next week. ***roll my eyes*** No, it's not easy but she's been unemployed since March and has been looking everyday for work. Nothing. She's been at a homeless shelter for a month now. Her time will be up next week.

  7. Every year for the past five years I have said that I wasn't going to bother with Christmas and at the last minute I gear up and do Christmas…I think I've really lost a lot of interest in it since my parents died. Even having grandchildren really doesn't help all that much. And having a grown child move back in with you….I've done that and God willing will never have to do it again.

  8. Every year for the past five years I have said that I wasn't going to bother with Christmas and at the last minute I gear up and do Christmas…I think I've really lost a lot of interest in it since my parents died. Even having grandchildren really doesn't help all that much. And having a grown child move back in with you….I've done that and God willing will never have to do it again.

I would love to hear what you think!

