Home » Journal » Monday Musings…

Monday Musings…

How was your Thanksgiving? We had a wonderful Thanksgiving. We all trekked over to my sister’s house and enjoyed a most delicious turkey dinner. And dessert. My sister is a wonderful cook. She inherited it from our mother. Unfortunately I did not. It was a great day. Family, food and laughter. What better way to spend the day?

I do not do Black Friday. Okay, I have done it a twice. Both times when I was out of town, only once did I do the early morning thing. I did not like it. So why did I go shopping on Friday?

Well, Jamie and I had tentatively planned to go see Breaking Dawn over Thanksgiving weekend. It occurred to me that Friday might be a good day to go see a movie since everyone else who ventured out would be shopping. We decided to go to the 11am show since somehow the movie was turning into a pre-Christmas shopping/car browsing trip (just how did that happen?!) Anyhow, there were about 10 people in that movie theater and the movie was good so I’ll be ready to see part 2 next year.

And shopping we did go! All the early morning crowds were cleared out and, although it was still crowded, it wasn’t too bad. I did buy Jim’s big gift and have some ideas for some other gifts that I have to go back and shop for on my own. All in all a good day, except for the one incident we witnessed. I will talk about that another time.

Then we went car browsing. Actually just browsing at one car. And not for me. Now that Jamie has a good job, she decided to start looking at newer cars. Her Explorer does not do well on winter roads and it’s getting up there in age so it was best to replace it before it started having problems. She’s been admiring her brother’s car since he bought it last year so she knew she wanted something similar. She found it, we looked at it, they offered her a fair price on a trade in and the car had just been marked down $1000. It was in very good shape and pretty too. So, she bought it! I’m excited for her. I’m happy that she has a good job that she loves (even if it’s stressful) and that she’s starting to get back on her feet. We talked her into putting off moving till spring so she should be in good shape by then…as long as she doesn’t get laid off. *sigh* *constant worry*

Ain’t she purty?

On Saturday, we did our part for Small Business Saturday (by the way I am a proud owner of a small business!). Jamie picked up her car from a local car dealership on Saturday, so that was when the actual purchase took place. We then went shopping at our local Springrove Variety Store for some Christmas crafting supplies. So, there you have it!

Getting ready for Christmas!

16 thoughts on “Monday Musings…

  1. Well, you got more of a jump on Christmas than I did! I decided since we are hosting 23 people for Christmas Eve now would be a good time to redo my stairway that has been waiting for a year and a half! Anyway, that's put me way behind so I have my work cut out for me. Congratulation to your daughter on her new car.

  2. Well, you got more of a jump on Christmas than I did! I decided since we are hosting 23 people for Christmas Eve now would be a good time to redo my stairway that has been waiting for a year and a half! Anyway, that's put me way behind so I have my work cut out for me. Congratulation to your daughter on her new car.

  3. Well, you got more of a jump on Christmas than I did! I decided since we are hosting 23 people for Christmas Eve now would be a good time to redo my stairway that has been waiting for a year and a half! Anyway, that's put me way behind so I have my work cut out for me. Congratulation to your daughter on her new car.

  4. Well, you got more of a jump on Christmas than I did! I decided since we are hosting 23 people for Christmas Eve now would be a good time to redo my stairway that has been waiting for a year and a half! Anyway, that's put me way behind so I have my work cut out for me. Congratulation to your daughter on her new car.

  5. One holiday over. Now I need to get busy with some Christmas shopping. Seems like once Thanksgiving is over the days go by really fast. So much to do and I am not ready at all.

  6. One holiday over. Now I need to get busy with some Christmas shopping. Seems like once Thanksgiving is over the days go by really fast. So much to do and I am not ready at all.

  7. I'm glad you had such a nice Thanksgiving, sounds wonderful! And smart to go to the movies while everyone else was shopping, I hadn't ever thought about that. I hate crowded theaters so I think that would be just right for me.I love the new picture at the top of your blog, so precious!

  8. I'm glad you had such a nice Thanksgiving, sounds wonderful! And smart to go to the movies while everyone else was shopping, I hadn't ever thought about that. I hate crowded theaters so I think that would be just right for me.I love the new picture at the top of your blog, so precious!

  9. Hi stopped back in to say hello! Looks like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and are off to a wonderful start for Christmas!Christmas is coming!!!Hugs~

  10. Hi stopped back in to say hello! Looks like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and are off to a wonderful start for Christmas!Christmas is coming!!!Hugs~

I would love to hear what you think!

