Home » Monday Musings » Monday’s Musings…

Monday’s Musings…

…on Tuesday. Just because I didn’t get around to it yesterday.

I posted this on facebook this morning:

Question: This is a very catchy upbeat sounding song…until you listen to the lyrics. Is there something I’m missing here? Is there a meaning to the lyrics that isn’t as dark sounding as I take them to be? If you have young-ish kids, would you want them listening to this?
As a side note, these lyrics were pointed out to me by my daughter – the same one I used to argue with over the lyrics in the rap songs that she listened to as a teen (which I always thought were very degrading to women).

Okay, I’m stepping off my soapbox and getting back to work.

 And what am I talking about? This song:

I got the following comment to this post from my nephew’s girlfriend, Melissa, who apparently did a little digging:

one of the band members described this song in a magazine article “Pumped Up Kicks’ is about a kid that basically is losing his mind and is plotting revenge. He’s an outcast. I feel like the youth in our culture are becoming more and more isolated. It’s kind of an epidemic. Instead of writing about victims and some tragedy, I wanted to get into the killer’s mind, like Truman Capote did in In Cold Blood. I love to write about characters. That’s my style. I really like to get inside the heads of other people and try to walk in their shoes.”

Foster says he considered writing the song from the perspective of the victim, but felt that would be a cop out. He also points out that there is no actual violence in the song, as the threats are all the kid’s internal monologue.

My response:

Thanks, Melissa, that’s interesting. One of the things that is bothersome to me is that the song has real catchy upbeat music so that draws you in before you listen to the lyrics. We noticed that on some stations they are blanking out the words “bullets” and “gun”. I guess what disturbs me the most is that there are kids who listen to these songs that are on the edge. Sometimes it doesn’t take much to send that over that edge…and they’re singing about that very kid. My opinion anyhow.

I’ve always been disturbed by certain lyrics in songs that are aimed at young people. Kids don’t always have the ability to separate the entertainment factor from real life. I could go on and on and I know that there are many who don’t agree and I realize that I may sound like a stick in the mud.

I would really love to hear what you all think…

Feeling protective today,

14 thoughts on “Monday’s Musings…

  1. I agree with you completely. While I would defend the songwriter's right to write this, I would even more challenge parents to be in touch with their children are listening to. This could be a great tool to introduce a discussion with your kid on what is "wrong" with the thinking portrayed and what would be better ways of dealing with the issues, etc.

  2. I agree with you completely. While I would defend the songwriter's right to write this, I would even more challenge parents to be in touch with their children are listening to. This could be a great tool to introduce a discussion with your kid on what is "wrong" with the thinking portrayed and what would be better ways of dealing with the issues, etc.

  3. It's scary – what the children are listening to. And, yes, the parents need to listen to the words and talk about them to the children. However, it's just not the words but the music itself. I had a friend who listened to Christian Rock and even though she loved the words, she discovered that the music made her angry, hyper, upset in all kinds of ways that she didn't like. She had to stop listening because of what the MUSIC was doing to her, not the WORDS.

  4. It's scary – what the children are listening to. And, yes, the parents need to listen to the words and talk about them to the children. However, it's just not the words but the music itself. I had a friend who listened to Christian Rock and even though she loved the words, she discovered that the music made her angry, hyper, upset in all kinds of ways that she didn't like. She had to stop listening because of what the MUSIC was doing to her, not the WORDS.

  5. You don't even want to get this old lady started on today's music, which bears little resemblance to music to me.As long as there are oldies stations, (AND my cd's), I'm happy. My son was a Marilyn Manson fan during his teen years. One of my happiest memories is the day he asked me if I ever listened to The Beatles!

  6. You don't even want to get this old lady started on today's music, which bears little resemblance to music to me.As long as there are oldies stations, (AND my cd's), I'm happy. My son was a Marilyn Manson fan during his teen years. One of my happiest memories is the day he asked me if I ever listened to The Beatles!

  7. Music and the words of songs have been a struggle of varying opinions for every generation. If parents or grandparents are concerned then they should talk to their children/grandchildren. I am opposed to censorship in any form of the written word:)

  8. Music and the words of songs have been a struggle of varying opinions for every generation. If parents or grandparents are concerned then they should talk to their children/grandchildren. I am opposed to censorship in any form of the written word:)

  9. I agree with your thought that lyrics like this could push an unbalanced teen over the edge. The video games, today's movies and music are so violent it seems. I can't NOT believe that these media forms don't have an influence on our children, and not for the good.RE: your post on my blog. I'm in the same situation as you Laura. I need to go through the blogs I am following and pare it down to who I'm REALLY following. The sad part is that I don't even get around to the people I want to stay in touch with as much as I would like. And yes, you are one of those people!! πŸ™‚

  10. I agree with your thought that lyrics like this could push an unbalanced teen over the edge. The video games, today's movies and music are so violent it seems. I can't NOT believe that these media forms don't have an influence on our children, and not for the good.RE: your post on my blog. I'm in the same situation as you Laura. I need to go through the blogs I am following and pare it down to who I'm REALLY following. The sad part is that I don't even get around to the people I want to stay in touch with as much as I would like. And yes, you are one of those people!! πŸ™‚

I would love to hear what you think!

