Home » Family » Veterans Day

Veterans Day

My father served during the Korean War. Even though he never served over there, his duty here changed him forever. All of the soldiers who lost their lives came through where my dad was stationed and my mom told me once that he could never listen to “Taps” again after the war. It was just too difficult. He had heard it over and over during the war. 

My dad on the left.
My father-in-law served during World War II. He lost an older brother and I’m sure many friends. He never talked about it. That’s the way he was. He did his duty, served his country, came home and put it behind him. I’m sure that it wasn’t all “behind him”. How could it be?

Today I appreciate and thank all veterans for their service in making sure that our country remains what our forefathers had intended it to be. Free.

 

6 thoughts on “Veterans Day

  1. My father was a British Soldier in world war two in Singapor my mum at the time was in England. After the war neither of them could watch any war movies and my mum froze at the sound of an air raid siren , my mum and dad lost a lot of their friends .I dont think I could of even gone through what they had to go through not only was it hard and sad for the ones that were on the lines it was also sad and hard for the general public back then. Both my mum & dad told me what it was like and compared to those days we have it really easy and should be thankful to all of them for it and those that are on the lines now.

  2. My father was a British Soldier in world war two in Singapor my mum at the time was in England. After the war neither of them could watch any war movies and my mum froze at the sound of an air raid siren , my mum and dad lost a lot of their friends .I dont think I could of even gone through what they had to go through not only was it hard and sad for the ones that were on the lines it was also sad and hard for the general public back then. Both my mum & dad told me what it was like and compared to those days we have it really easy and should be thankful to all of them for it and those that are on the lines now.

I would love to hear what you think!

