Home » Uncategorized » Edmund Fitzgerald

Edmund Fitzgerald

On this day, in 1975, the Edmund Fitzgerald sank in a November storm on Lake Superior. All 29 crew members were lost. Gordon Lightfoot sang a song about it…

(I really really tried to put in a video for the song here. Sometimes blogger drives me crazy! I provided the link…hopefully that works.)

http://youtu.be/9vST6hVRj2A

My husband has always had an interest in Great Lakes shipwrecks, so he knows more than I do. Jim has gone to so many of my places that someday I want to take him to the Great Lakes Shipwrecks Museum. It’s doesn’t ever seem to be “on our way” to somewhere. Some day.

Dreaming of a someday,
 

P.S. Today’s the last day to enter my giveaway! I’ll be drawing for a winner tomorrow.

10 thoughts on “Edmund Fitzgerald

  1. I believe I have that song here at home…Gordon Lightfoot…one of my all time favourites. I used to live close to Orillia (where he lives) and went to high school there. We had one memorable assembly where he came and entertained. This was before he became so famous of course.

  2. I believe I have that song here at home…Gordon Lightfoot…one of my all time favourites. I used to live close to Orillia (where he lives) and went to high school there. We had one memorable assembly where he came and entertained. This was before he became so famous of course.

  3. We grew up listening to Gordon Lightfoot as he is a famous Canadian singer/song writer . Papa here plays a lot of his songs on the guitar. There is a documented ghost story that is in a book writen by another famous Canadian an Author by the name of Barbra Smith who put the story that Glen sings about, it is a true story. Her books are Canadian Ghost stories. Great post , have a wonderful day !

  4. We grew up listening to Gordon Lightfoot as he is a famous Canadian singer/song writer . Papa here plays a lot of his songs on the guitar. There is a documented ghost story that is in a book writen by another famous Canadian an Author by the name of Barbra Smith who put the story that Glen sings about, it is a true story. Her books are Canadian Ghost stories. Great post , have a wonderful day !

  5. It's a great song that has kept the ship in the minds of people for decades. My husband was a student at Lake Superior State when that happened, so like your husband, mine knows more about it than I do. That was quite a day.

  6. It's a great song that has kept the ship in the minds of people for decades. My husband was a student at Lake Superior State when that happened, so like your husband, mine knows more about it than I do. That was quite a day.

I would love to hear what you think!

