Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings

Monday Musings

So what has the past week brought us? For me…a quick trip to Traverse City this past weekend. Jim and I had a meeting up to the north (in the pinkie finger area – we live in the mitten, ya know!) We had decided to stay at the cabin since it was free, but as it is two hours from Traverse City and we would have to get up, get ready, and winterize the place (for only one night’s stay) and get to Traverse City at 8:30am, I had second thoughts by the end of the week. It’s the off-season and the area we were headed is a tourist area and boasts many (many) hotels. We decided to just head up, knowing we would be able to find a place. And we did. Meeting Saturday, lunch with friends, and a stop at one and only one antique store and we started the nearly five hour drive home.

I apologize to any of my facebook friends for excess facebook status updates Saturday evening. Jim did all the driving and I was stir crazy! 😉

I did get a few things at the antique store, mostly photos which I will share in future Simple Sundays. 🙂

Saturday night, on our way home, we really didn’t need to stop and have dinner because we’d had lunch with some friends before we left to come home. Jim just couldn’t seem to pass Tony’s without stopping. I don’t have a problem passing on by. The novelty of the huge portions is fun, but what a waste. I got pancakes, couldn’t finish a third of them, took them home and gave them to the dogs. I think it’d be fun to go for a banana split…with a group of people. Check the link above to see what I mean.

These are not regular plates, but are large platters. Jim says the portion sizes have gotten smaller. He used to get six sausage patties with his breakfast. Mine is the pancakes. I hardly made a dent. I think the box I brought them home in weighed five pounds!

Not a lot going on otherwise. I have a free dinner coupon at Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn that has to be used in November. Staying over night is probably not an option, but I’m hoping Jamie and I can make a day trip up there and maybe do a little Christmas shopping.

On Friday, I will start my 100 follower celebration giveaway. I promise. I’ve got an idea of what I want to give away and Friday seems a good day to start. 🙂

Happy Halloween! We used to get around 30 trick or treaters here when we first moved in about 20 years ago. Now? For the past couple of years we’ve gotten one. Yep. One. And he’s my nephew’s little guy. I think they keep coming because they feel sorry for us. There’s a little hope for this year though. Our neighbors’ daughter moved in with her two kids so maybe, just maybe, they’ll stop by too. We have plenty of candy. Just in case.

Hope everyone has a spooktacular night!

12 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. We actually didn't pass out candy this year, and when I looked out the window I saw very few kids out! We'll have to check out Tony's dome day, although I agree with you..too big of portions is a waste.

  2. We actually didn't pass out candy this year, and when I looked out the window I saw very few kids out! We'll have to check out Tony's dome day, although I agree with you..too big of portions is a waste.

I would love to hear what you think!

