Home » Journal » The new glasses…

The new glasses…

Eyeglasses, that is.

My new glasses…not a bad pic considering I had to take it without my glasses on. Harhar!

Yes, I picked up my new glasses yesterday. Immediately I saw improvement. The words on the page were bigger and darker. On the way home everything seemed so bright and clear. Wow! Were my eyes that much worse that the new glasses made this much difference?

The first thing I did when I got home was to open a book. I haven’t been reading as much lately because the words on the pages seem to have shrunk. But, yay, much better! I can start reading again. ☺

Two hours later. Headache. Sore eyeballs (yes, I said sore eyeballs!).

I guess I have to ease into these new glasses.

And I hope I never again have to wait so long between eye doctor visits. We don’t have optical insurance and I just kept putting it off, feeling that getting new glasses were a luxury instead of a necessity. I do realize that I didn’t have to get new frames, but I felt that I’d had them long enough to justify replacing them. I hope, in the future, that I do not have to be faced with these decisions again…it’s my eyesight after all!

I can see clearly now!

18 thoughts on “The new glasses…

  1. We have coverage for glasses (such as it is) and still I have developed a trick for saving a few bucks…I keep my old frames and when I need new glasses I go back to the old frames and just get lenses. Your new glasses look pretty spiffy.

  2. We have coverage for glasses (such as it is) and still I have developed a trick for saving a few bucks…I keep my old frames and when I need new glasses I go back to the old frames and just get lenses. Your new glasses look pretty spiffy.

  3. Having some 'vision' issues right now and fearing a decline, slow, but sure, in my vision… READING is what I do, it IS what I love – so I have decided to embrace the day in front of me and thank God I can still see – not so terrific, computer percentage is generally up to 150% ,, but I can still see. I was at the eye dr. last week and they said my rx is as good as it can get… I was devestated. I wanted the experience you had where you put on the new specs and your world is illuminated. Oh, well,,, I'm seeking the other blessings in my life – they're abundant.. lol, I just want TO SEE BETTER!! Hey, LOVE the glasses – now, ahem,,, let's see these on your noggin!!!

  4. Having some 'vision' issues right now and fearing a decline, slow, but sure, in my vision… READING is what I do, it IS what I love – so I have decided to embrace the day in front of me and thank God I can still see – not so terrific, computer percentage is generally up to 150% ,, but I can still see. I was at the eye dr. last week and they said my rx is as good as it can get… I was devestated. I wanted the experience you had where you put on the new specs and your world is illuminated. Oh, well,,, I'm seeking the other blessings in my life – they're abundant.. lol, I just want TO SEE BETTER!! Hey, LOVE the glasses – now, ahem,,, let's see these on your noggin!!!

  5. Pretty glasses, Laura! I went to the eye dr. this morning, but since I live in a very small town my glasses (bifocals! I'm officially old.) won't be ready for a couple weeks. We don't have optical ins either, so I cringe at the cost, but I'm with you: our sight is worth it.

  6. Pretty glasses, Laura! I went to the eye dr. this morning, but since I live in a very small town my glasses (bifocals! I'm officially old.) won't be ready for a couple weeks. We don't have optical ins either, so I cringe at the cost, but I'm with you: our sight is worth it.

  7. Your optometrist will let know whether you need a new pair of glasses or not. You’ll definitely go through an adjustment period, especially if there is a significant change between the old and new glasses. During those periods, you can always approach your doctor for advice on how to deal with any discomfort you’re experiencing.Vincent Davis

  8. Your optometrist will let know whether you need a new pair of glasses or not. You’ll definitely go through an adjustment period, especially if there is a significant change between the old and new glasses. During those periods, you can always approach your doctor for advice on how to deal with any discomfort you’re experiencing.Vincent Davis

  9. “The words on the page were bigger and darker.” – I know what you mean, Laura. I’m near-sighted and I badly need an eyeglass to correct my vision. I was hesitant at first since I was not used to wearing glasses. But my eye doctor told me that it was for my own good. And he was right! My vision is clear and I can read better and clearer! [Grant Weber]

  10. “The words on the page were bigger and darker.” – I know what you mean, Laura. I’m near-sighted and I badly need an eyeglass to correct my vision. I was hesitant at first since I was not used to wearing glasses. But my eye doctor told me that it was for my own good. And he was right! My vision is clear and I can read better and clearer! [Grant Weber]

I would love to hear what you think!

