Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings

Monday Musings

Here we go again, moving from the old week into the new. We’ve had some busy weeks here lately. Mind you, I know that there are many of you that experience much busier weeks. I was one of you when my kids were younger and still in school and, of course, in the years when I was helping my mom. Since then life has settled into a comfortable routine (or the attempt at a routine) of working, housework, reading, writing and trying to do some needlework. Gone are the days of being parent workroom volunteer, band booster, scout leader, football/track spectator. In my past are the rainy nights spent cheering the football team on and watching for my son to take the field and then cringing and praying that the inevitable injury wouldn’t happen, the cold Saturday afternoons watching marching band after marching band take the field and then picking my daughter out of the line. Tucked away are proud memories as I followed my children as each of them followed their scouting trail. Yes, life isn’t as hectic as it once was and I often feel empty needing to be doing something more. Something more meaningful and helpful to others. At this time, though, I’ve decided that I need to give more time to our business and to be available to Jim when he needs an extra hand. He works by himself and it amazes me what he accomplishes on his own, but he knows I’m there when he needs me. And then there’s my Laura Ingalls Wilder work. I will always continue that in one form or another. I also have other projects in the works for my down time.

For now though, life treks on. And here’s are my thoughts on this week now in my past…

I had an eye doctor appointment and my eyes have gotten worse. Big surprise. Not. He also sees the future possibility of: cataracts, macular degeneration, and glaucoma. All good news, huh? Of course, everyone who reaches old age can have these problems and he’s not implying that these are things that I need to worry about now, just to be aware of them. He does want to keep track of the progression of possible glaucoma. I have to go back in for further testing for that, as I had to do the last time I was there. He stresses that I need to wear sunglasses whenever I’m outside. I often forget (or am I just too lazy?) something as simple as popping the magnetic sunglass lenses onto the front of my regular glasses. I decided to get transition lenses on my new glasses which will take care of the “need to wear sunglasses whenever I’m outside” dilemma, except that they don’t really get dark enough for driving. For that, I am keeping my old glasses with the sunglass lenses in my car.
I was determined to get completely different frames this time instead of the wire, half-frames that I’ve gotten the last two times. I’ve seen such cute frames on other people. I spent forever looking at frames, pulling off my glasses and trying on each frame that I thought might work for me. After what seemed like forever, I narrowed it down to two of my favorites and sought out another opinion. I wear bifocals and not all frames will work for those so we tracked down the father eye doctor (it’s now a father/son office) for his opinion. And he is good at what he does. If he likes a certain style of frame then I know that’s the frame for me.
Guess what I got (apparently I don’t do well with change). At least they’re a different shape even if they’re a similar style. Still, I like them and can’t wait till they’re ready.
What I’ve really noticed is that I’ve had more and more trouble reading and I hope the new glasses solve that problem. Those words just seem to get smaller and smaller over time. 😉

After the loss of one of the chickens on Friday, we extended the fencing up to about 8 feet tall with netting. It was getting dark when we were working on it so Jim left the gate area for the next day because he needed more light to finish it up. I said, “It’ll be okay. The chickens will only fly over the gate if I lock them out of their house when I’m cleaning it.” They only hang around the gate when someone is out there by them.
I was wrong. But luckily (since I check on them a million times during the day) we saw the wayward chicken before “anyone” else did. Jim finished the gate. I can’t imagine that a fat chicken can fly over an 8 foot fence. We can’t put netting over the top as there’s a tree growing in the middle of their yard. They like the tree so we want to leave it there. Hopefully there will be no more loss of chicken. I’m kind of attached to them!

Jim and I spent a delightful anniversary day together. It was pouring down rain most of the day so Jim took the afternoon off. And we were on a mission. We don’t buy each other gifts anymore for our anniversary, but decide on something that we want or that the house could use and that is what we get as our anniversary gift. Does that sound boring or not very romantic? Well, it works for us. We still buy each other gifts for birthdays and Christmas (and sometimes for no reason at all) and, to be honest, we found that we were just be buying “things” for each other. We like the idea of deciding together whether we need maybe a new camera or a new appliance. We had decided to replace our coffee maker this year. Ours bit the dust and we’ve been using one that Jamie had on hand for us when we visited her in Georgia. However, we’re used to one with an automatic shut-off with a carafe that does not spill every time you pour a cup of coffee.
But…our vacuum has been pooping for the last several months and I was holding out to get that for my birthday.
Yes, we do lead an exciting life here. And why is that?
Because the vacuum cleaner wasn’t going to last till my birthday for replacement and I told Jim that we should probably nix the new coffee maker and get a new vacuum…but guess what!
We got both! Yep. We went out for our anniversary and came home with a new vacuum cleaner AND a new coffee maker. Plus. Plus! We also got chicken feed and dog food. And then we bought the netting for the chicken yard. And get this…we bought a loaf of bread too!
Anyhow, it may not sound exciting to some of you, but we did get to spend the day together and we did have a wonderful day. We ended the day with dinner at Texas Roadhouse and Jim really (really) enjoys the rolls there. He had six. Before dinner. I love that man! 🙂

Jamie and I went to a Laura Ingalls Wilder musical on Saturday. I always keep a look out for anything having to do with her that is happening local. It doesn’t happen often enough. We did enjoy it, but I’ll write more about it another time.
Afterwards we met Jon (on his way home from work) for lunch at a good little Mexican restaurant. Lunch with my kids. Love it. 🙂 Jamie and I then headed to a teacher store while we were in the area and she bought some things that she needed for her classroom. Lots of things. Lots and lots of things. That’s why the girl has no money. She spends it all on her classroom. I hope those parents realize how much she loves their kids…

Giveaway – I haven’t forgotten. It’ll happen. I promise. I’m sure you’re all tired of hearing that.

Happy Monday to you all!

14 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. I so enjoyed your blog today Laura :)You title says it all and I totally agree…a simple life IS a happy life :)Have a great day!

  2. I so enjoyed your blog today Laura :)You title says it all and I totally agree…a simple life IS a happy life :)Have a great day!

  3. Great post. We all do things differently when it comes to gifts. Papa and I are the same we buy for the house or what ever we need sometimes its a want and a need lol.Papa still works outside the home as for me I am retired and our kids are out and about living their lives I enjoy the quiet but at times I would like to have them around more often.So during the week days its just me and my Miggy and Harley. Have a wonderful eve.

  4. Great post. We all do things differently when it comes to gifts. Papa and I are the same we buy for the house or what ever we need sometimes its a want and a need lol.Papa still works outside the home as for me I am retired and our kids are out and about living their lives I enjoy the quiet but at times I would like to have them around more often.So during the week days its just me and my Miggy and Harley. Have a wonderful eve.

  5. I love reading about your "boring" life. Sounds a lot like mine but, unfortunately, I don't get to spend too much time with Ed. Work and his mother take precedence. This weekend, however, he was home all day on Sunday and both of my "kids" were here for supper. Your memories of bands, scouting, and the workroom at Morton made me a little teary. I like my life now, but I miss those days. I am thinking…..maybe I need a trip to Michigan next summer. Have to wait and see how all the old folks here are doing….and have to get a dog sitter…..but I would sure like to see you in person again.

  6. I love reading about your "boring" life. Sounds a lot like mine but, unfortunately, I don't get to spend too much time with Ed. Work and his mother take precedence. This weekend, however, he was home all day on Sunday and both of my "kids" were here for supper. Your memories of bands, scouting, and the workroom at Morton made me a little teary. I like my life now, but I miss those days. I am thinking…..maybe I need a trip to Michigan next summer. Have to wait and see how all the old folks here are doing….and have to get a dog sitter…..but I would sure like to see you in person again.

  7. I've worn glasses since I was 10 years old. Picking out new frames is always as difficult as trying on bathing suits. I've become liberated in the bathing suit issue because I'm past the age when anyone is looking so now it's only the new glasses that take forever. I have transition lenses and really like them. The only thing is they do not get dark while insdie the car and sometimes that sun is still very bright.Out trips down memory lane are nice little vacations.

  8. I've worn glasses since I was 10 years old. Picking out new frames is always as difficult as trying on bathing suits. I've become liberated in the bathing suit issue because I'm past the age when anyone is looking so now it's only the new glasses that take forever. I have transition lenses and really like them. The only thing is they do not get dark while insdie the car and sometimes that sun is still very bright.Out trips down memory lane are nice little vacations.

  9. I'm with you Laura, on the simple things. No reason to buy, just to buy–I am learning that and also being greatly convicted of it! Your anniversary sounds like a wonderful day–you got to spend time together and celebrate your love–nothing wrong with that.

  10. I'm with you Laura, on the simple things. No reason to buy, just to buy–I am learning that and also being greatly convicted of it! Your anniversary sounds like a wonderful day–you got to spend time together and celebrate your love–nothing wrong with that.

I would love to hear what you think!

