Home » Family » Monday Musings

Monday Musings

Monday is easier to face when you’ve experienced such a great weekend, as I did!

Let’s see what’s been going on?
First of all, I’ve gotten a few compliments on my header picture of the mums and I must give photo credit to my daughter, Jamie. Technically it is my picture as she took it with my camera ☺, but she did take the picture…last fall actually. I love it.

The past week didn’t end up going well for our Detroit Tigers, but they had a great season and there’s always next year. Plus, yesterday was the first loss of the season for our Detroit Lions, but still they are doing so well. I understand the Red Wings are undefeated so far – correct me if I’m wrong. It’s been good to be a Detroit sports fan. I’m actually not a huge sports fan, but I do follow what’s going on and support our teams through good seasons and not-so-good seasons.

Let’s see…what else has gone on in the last week? Oh, Jamie and I went to see the local production of “To Kill A Mockingbird” (her favorite book). She treated me to dinner and the theater. A lovely evening. On Saturday, she’s going to enjoy going to a Laura Ingalls Wilder musical with me. And I’m buying lunch afterwards!

My chickens are averaging four eggs a day. That means we have two slackers. Just kidding. I love my chickens. We are going to have to net the top of their yard as we have had an occasional flyer. Last week, Jim was working just outside his shop when he saw Duke trying to pick up a chicken who had flown the coop. He ran over yelling for Duke to drop her and, when he did, the chicken ran right over to Jim! I’m convinced that Duke was just going to bring her up to the house to show me she had escaped! But I am taking it seriously. I don’t even want to think of what could have happened. Duke is a dog, after all, and that’s what dogs do…

Yesterday, my nephew received the rank of Eagle. If you’re wondering…that’s just the highest rank that a Boy Scout can earn! I know that Duke touched on this event Saturday. The weather was beautiful (although we were all worried there for a few days), the ceremony was perfect, and we are all so very proud of Caleb. He is a really great kid!

Here’s our newest Eagle Scout and his very proud grandmother.

I’ll share more pictures soon.

And one more thing…have you been waiting for me to post about my giveaway? My apologies. Busy time right now. I promise that it will happen!

18 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. HA! Our Vikings are done… what an awful NFL season 😦 G'ma is ADORABLE!!! Wish we had acearage so I could have my PB pig and some chickens! Oh,,, an a goat, a rooster, barn cats, and a lama – no , I'm not kidding

  2. HA! Our Vikings are done… what an awful NFL season 😦 G'ma is ADORABLE!!! Wish we had acearage so I could have my PB pig and some chickens! Oh,,, an a goat, a rooster, barn cats, and a lama – no , I'm not kidding

  3. You sure did have a nice weekend! Congratulations to your nephew. I must add my love to your header picture. Very beautiful! I am bummed about the Tigers but they had a great season! Have a good week!

  4. You sure did have a nice weekend! Congratulations to your nephew. I must add my love to your header picture. Very beautiful! I am bummed about the Tigers but they had a great season! Have a good week!

I would love to hear what you think!

