Home » Duke » Duker-day…Scouting

Duker-day…Scouting

Things are a-buzzing around here. Something is going on out back in the woods, at the lodge. I’m pretty sure it has something to do with Boy Scouts. That always means lots of extra attention…and some food too! This is special though. Everyone is calling it an Eagle Ceremony. I’m not sure what it is all about, but it’s a big deal. I know the scout too. He’s my cousin, Caleb. My mom says that he’s an Eagle Scout now and this is his ceremony. It’s big new folks. She said that he’s worked really hard and is earning the highest rank in Boy Scouting.

Caleb working on the woodworking merit badge.
His Uncle Jim taught it and it was a special scouting anniversary
merit badge so it was old school with the requirements of the original woodworking merit badge.
They could only use hand tools.
Facts come from my mom and she hopes she got it right.

And it’s all going on here tomorrow. Here’s the thing – my mom told me last night that she got us (me and Sosha) special treats for when we have to be locked in the house. HUH?? Locked in the house? What is this all about? Don’t they trust us? I mean, it is true that we have sneaked off with plates that have been set down low enough for us to get to and, yes, I do like to pester people to have my ears or butt scratched. Or wait….I wonder if they’re going to blow that thing called a trumpet. I think they call the noise Taps. Last year during what they called a flag retiring ceremony, some scout played Taps on the trumpet and Sosha thought it would be cool if she sang along.

How. Embarrassing.

Me, Sosha, my dad…and the American Flag.

Anyhow, I’m hoping they don’t keep us locked up the whole time. I think my mom said that someone would come back to the house and let us out after the ceremony. I hope so. I mean…Sosha and I want to help celebrate this special day!

Another Eagle Ceremony held out back by the lodge (before I was born).
That’s my dad (he was the Scoutmaster), our friend Branden, my brother Jon, and Caleb’s brother Luke.
The Eagle Ceremony was for Branden, Jon, and Luke.

Boy Scouts hanging around out at the lodge. That ranks way up there on my list of favorite things.

10 thoughts on “Duker-day…Scouting

  1. Hair Ball: you see, what me and my brother do is we sit at the dinner table.Sir Poops-A-Lot: It's more polite than stealing dinner plates.Hair Ball: Yup. And sometimes mummsy makes us our own plates of food.

  2. Hair Ball: you see, what me and my brother do is we sit at the dinner table.Sir Poops-A-Lot: It's more polite than stealing dinner plates.Hair Ball: Yup. And sometimes mummsy makes us our own plates of food.

I would love to hear what you think!

