Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings

Monday Musings

Another Monday….another Monday. What more can I say?

What’s been going on in the past week? Hmmm…it’s hard for this old brain to go back a full week and remember the details. Not a whole heck of a lot until the weekend.

I did go for my annual mammogram this week. I’m a few months behind in scheduling it and when I called and was told that there was an opening for the very next day, I decided to go for it and get it done. I always have an area that they either have to compare to my last one to make sure it hasn’t changed or they call me back in for another one. I haven’t heard back yet.
I ran several errands that day and felt so good about getting something accomplished. I really need to get back on track here!

Have I mentioned (and I’m sure I probably have ☺) that Jim and I are involved in our MGWA (Michigan Ground Water Association). Jim is a director and I am a member of the auxiliary. We have two meetings a year and a state convention. This past Saturday was the fall meeting. On Friday, they had to meet to take care of some business and, since we both had to be there Saturday and it was too far to bother going and coming home in one day only to go back again the next day, I went along. I had no idea how long it would take and what I would do while Jim was busy. I took a book to read and a notebook to write in and decided that I would decide once we got there.

I met with Raul (our handy dandy GPS) to see what was nearby…and there was a mall. So, before I could chicken out (we all know I DON’T like to drive, especially in unfamiliar places) I let Raul take me to that mall. And it was a pretty nice mall. The best thing? It had a nice Barnes & Noble! I’m not a big shopper so I really didn’t hit too many of the stores in the mall, just browsed a little. I did spend close to two hours browsing at books though. In the end, I bought a Detroit book that was on the clearance shelf that I knew Jim would like, a writing magazine for me and (shhh!) something for Jamie. Then I splurged at the Starbucks there and got myself a Chai Frappuccino and coconut macaroon. Mmmm….something I don’t do very often and a real treat for me!

The book that I bought Jim.
It was something he had wanted before,
but was too much money. It was on clearance. 🙂

Then I headed back to where Jim was. I thought I’d see if he had any idea of how far along they were in their project. If it would be awhile, I thought I could find a park to enjoy my treat and read my book.
My little coconut macaroon had to wait as they were almost done already. Just in time too. We were hungry for lunch!

We spent a good deal of a beautiful autumn Saturday inside at meetings. I really enjoy the auxiliary. I love these ladies and we are there for one purpose: to support our husbands and our industry. They can’t do what they do without us 🙂 and we are fully willing to support them. Does that sound sexist? It’s not really. For many of us, the business involves family and we need to be supportive and helpful in whatever way that we can to advance our industry and our business. It’s a true partnership. Our group is not just for women, but at this time we are it! And it’s really refreshing to be with a group of wives who do not just sit around complaining about their husbands!

Later in the afternoon, things finally wrapped up and we headed home. But we decided to take our time and get off the expressway. We found and couple of antique stores and made a few purchases. I bought several antique photos at one because they were very reasonably priced. At another I bought a couple of blue/gray enamel ware pieces, an antique potscrubber and a double school slate which was very cool.

We decided to stop for dinner before we reached our home destination and ended up going to a place that we’ve been to a time or two. A good local place with good simple food – just what Jim likes – and enough of a variety so that I could have something that I would never make at home (because no one else likes it). Winning situation all around.

Since Jamie has been working (at a real live teaching job!), she has been itching to move back out on her own. Except that, with all that has gone on the past few years, she has a fear of making a financial commitment before she knows for sure that her job is secure. So, it falls to the old standby – mobile home back on our property. She’ll have her own place, she’ll be a close neighbor, and the rent is fair :-). It needed some sprucing up so we began that project and, of course, in the process Jim finds major problems. Isn’t that the way it goes. It’s an older place and it probably won’t be used again after Jamie moves out, so we don’t want to put a lot of time and money into it, but we want it to be safe for Jamie. Well….a little paint here and there, a little repair here and there, a big repair here and there. It’ll be ready by winter and, most importantly safe and secure for her to live in for the next couple of years.

All in all it was a good week.
Wishing you all a wonderful week,

8 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. It certainly does sound like a busy week! I could browse in book stores for hours and am truly bummed that the Borders by my house closed!

  2. It certainly does sound like a busy week! I could browse in book stores for hours and am truly bummed that the Borders by my house closed!

  3. What an interesting time. I would love to hear how you pick antique pictures to purchase. There are so many on the market. How do you pick one to buy? What is a reasonable price, how to do store/display your collection at home? Why are some pictures priced more than others? Do they have identifying information on the back? That sort of stuff. Guess you can tell, I am very interested in pictures, especially of family, but old pictures are really very interesting because they show a snap shot of some small minute in life and you can learn alot if you check them carefully. I bet you have a lot to share on that subject.

  4. What an interesting time. I would love to hear how you pick antique pictures to purchase. There are so many on the market. How do you pick one to buy? What is a reasonable price, how to do store/display your collection at home? Why are some pictures priced more than others? Do they have identifying information on the back? That sort of stuff. Guess you can tell, I am very interested in pictures, especially of family, but old pictures are really very interesting because they show a snap shot of some small minute in life and you can learn alot if you check them carefully. I bet you have a lot to share on that subject.

I would love to hear what you think!

