Home » Family » Beep Beep

Beep Beep

Once upon a time, in 1984, it was just Jamie and I living in a tiny apartment in an old converted house. It was our first real place, just the two of us. I was 23 and Jamie was 4 when we moved there. We had lived with my parents for three years and they were getting ready to move to Florida. I had been dating Jim for two years and was madly in love. I made the very difficult decision not to make the move with my parents even though Jim and I were not talking marriage…yet. Jim would say that he knew long before this that we would be getting married. But that’s another story for another time. 

Every day I had to be to work at 8am and drop Jamie off at the sitter’s on the way. Jamie was not a morning person. We finally came up with a routine that worked for us and I would dress Jamie while she still slept, carry her down to the car and she would eat breakfast later.

I don’t think Jamie and I will ever forget a certain song that played every single morning on our way to the sitter’s house. It certainly did help to wake Jamie up. And we both sang along…

14 thoughts on “Beep Beep

  1. My mom and I had the same routine! Our song varied from Harry Chapin's 'Cats in the Cradle' to Peter, Paul, and Mary's 'The Marvelous Toy' to Janis Joplin's 'Cry Baby.' With the first two, she was being sentimental; with the last one, a hippy. I'll take her (and those memories) either way.

  2. My mom and I had the same routine! Our song varied from Harry Chapin's 'Cats in the Cradle' to Peter, Paul, and Mary's 'The Marvelous Toy' to Janis Joplin's 'Cry Baby.' With the first two, she was being sentimental; with the last one, a hippy. I'll take her (and those memories) either way.

  3. Cute. From one single mom to the other, I had five cranky pants to deal with in the morning. I used to bathe them and dress them for the next day. We ate breakfast, most times, in the car. I was the best muffin maker in the land back in those days.

  4. Cute. From one single mom to the other, I had five cranky pants to deal with in the morning. I used to bathe them and dress them for the next day. We ate breakfast, most times, in the car. I was the best muffin maker in the land back in those days.

I would love to hear what you think!

