Home » Family » Monday’s Musings #5

Monday’s Musings #5

Monday…Monday…

I had a lot on my mind when Jim and I left to go north a week ago Friday. There were some decisions that I felt that I needed to make about things that I am doing and what better time to do the thinking than when your mind can be empty of  “work stuff”?

Beautiful morning visitors on the lake.

At the cabin, there is no computer access and I have an old-fashioned cell phone. So, I went old school and wrote. Yep, I had a notebook and a pen and I wrote. What did I write? Well, I wrote about the cabin, of course! I loved the writing part of it! All these years it’s what I always wanted to be doing, but was always thinking I wasn’t good enough or I was waiting for the right time. I want to keep up the notebook and pen writing.

A writer who waits for ideal conditions under which to work will die without putting a word on paper.  ~E.B. White

I love to write! It doesn’t matter if I’m no good. It matters that I enjoy it.

The decisions that I wanted to make had to do with some things in my life that I thought I should cut back on or give up entirely.
I cannot give them up.
They are things that I love too much to see leaving my life forever. What I need to do is set my priorities straight. That, my dear friends, is my next goal! 🙂 I will always be a work in progress.

The chickens’ first gift to me!

Guess what! My chickens started laying eggs!!! I have collected five beautiful, lovely brown eggs since Sunday! Jim set up a chicken cam too! Isn’t that the greatest? I can turn on tv and watch my chickens in their little house while they’re settling down for the night. I haven’t been watching much tv lately, but this is definitely must see tv! 🙂 I would share it with you all…if only I knew how. 😦
Oh, and I have to tell the story of how I discovered the eggs:
Jim and Jamie had been doing a fine job of taking care of the girls for me while I was not feeling well. For some reason, on Sunday, Jim was rather insistent that it was time for me to go take care of my chickens. He was really bugging me about it. So out I went, telling Jim that I was still sporting a fever of almost 101 on the way. I talked to the girls who came to see if I had any good treats with me greet me and opened the door to the coop to start cleaning it.
And I discovered two eggs. Jim knew they were there and wanted me to be the one to find them (and he didn’t expect me to clean the coop). What a guy. This beats a dozen roses anytime!

Okay, so I’ve not been feeling well and every time I’m not feeling well I have very strange dreams. I’ve not been sleeping well either for over a week. Except for Saturday, I’ve just slept in bits and pieces, but apparently sometimes long enough to dream –
I’ve never been on a cruise…till last night. I had a dream that I was on a cruise ship all alone. Well, not quite all alone. There were also three pirates and I had to fight them off. I did too. I found that I could render them helpless by a good blow to the shins with a large branch that I had found.
Where would one find a large branch on a cruise ship? Why was I alone? And what kind of pirate is rendered helpless by a blow to the shins?

This is a group picture of the girls from a couple of months ago. They were still just babes then.

I realize that I’m rambling. I guess I have to find a better way to go about writing about random things in my simple happy life…

I am truly blessed. Have a wonderful morning/afternoon/evening (whichever you are celebrating ☺)!

16 thoughts on “Monday’s Musings #5

  1. I just posted, it didn't "take". One more try….. I hope you are feeling well again and congrats to the "girls" on their egg-sellent achievement!

  2. I just posted, it didn't "take". One more try….. I hope you are feeling well again and congrats to the "girls" on their egg-sellent achievement!

  3. I sleep in shifts, too. In fact, Sunday my dream of pencil thin snakes with yellow heads and black tales, woke me. They squirmed into my bedroom with intention, slithering their way into a dirty pile of laundry.They were lead by a normal sized snake with a yellow head and black tale. Whenever, I tried to get them out of laundry and house, they'd attack my legs but I never fell over dead from the venom. But they wouldn't leave either.I keep a dream journal. It's my belief its sometimes are warnings from God or I'm trying to work something out from my awake life.Anyway, when I went to work that morning, I was confronted w/ a rumor (out-an-lie) about me. Funny, huh?

  4. I sleep in shifts, too. In fact, Sunday my dream of pencil thin snakes with yellow heads and black tales, woke me. They squirmed into my bedroom with intention, slithering their way into a dirty pile of laundry.They were lead by a normal sized snake with a yellow head and black tale. Whenever, I tried to get them out of laundry and house, they'd attack my legs but I never fell over dead from the venom. But they wouldn't leave either.I keep a dream journal. It's my belief its sometimes are warnings from God or I'm trying to work something out from my awake life.Anyway, when I went to work that morning, I was confronted w/ a rumor (out-an-lie) about me. Funny, huh?

  5. You're quite right- so much better than a dozen roses any day! I always hand write in my journal every single night. I love your statement about how it doesn't matter about being good as long as you enjoy it!

  6. You're quite right- so much better than a dozen roses any day! I always hand write in my journal every single night. I love your statement about how it doesn't matter about being good as long as you enjoy it!

  7. I dream weird dreams when I sleep weirdly .. okay, I dream weird dreams almost all the time but they are weirder at that point. I like how you write whether you are good or not (but your blog is GOOD). I write, too, but not as often as I should. You are an inspiration – when I get back from Big Island, I swear I will start writing again. I use my laptop (my hands don't like pencils) but sit in a recliner with it on my lap (good for my back and my hands) and don't have the internet on. Good luck with your cabin writing.

  8. I dream weird dreams when I sleep weirdly .. okay, I dream weird dreams almost all the time but they are weirder at that point. I like how you write whether you are good or not (but your blog is GOOD). I write, too, but not as often as I should. You are an inspiration – when I get back from Big Island, I swear I will start writing again. I use my laptop (my hands don't like pencils) but sit in a recliner with it on my lap (good for my back and my hands) and don't have the internet on. Good luck with your cabin writing.

  9. I hope you're feeling better….. no fun to be sick with a fever.Aren't dreams the strangest thing……. when I have my goofy dreams, I always wonder where the heck those silly thoughts came from. Glad you came out ahead in your dream.Your husband is so sweet to want you to be the one to find the pretty eggs…sounds like a keeper. lol!Keep up the writing!

  10. I hope you're feeling better….. no fun to be sick with a fever.Aren't dreams the strangest thing……. when I have my goofy dreams, I always wonder where the heck those silly thoughts came from. Glad you came out ahead in your dream.Your husband is so sweet to want you to be the one to find the pretty eggs…sounds like a keeper. lol!Keep up the writing!

I would love to hear what you think!

