Home » Duke » Duker-day…My Trip to the Cabin

Duker-day…My Trip to the Cabin

My mom and dad took me to the cabin! It’s my favorite vacation spot! It’s my only vacation spot.
I love it there. I usually get to go everywhere with my mom and dad. That’s why they like to go in September…it’s not too hot to leave me in the car if they have to go someplace without me. I love it when they go on little adventures and I love it when we just hang around the cabin. Did I mention that I love it there?

The swans were there again. Now, that annoys me because my parents feed them things that they could be feeding me. I like bread crumbs. So, mostly I ignored the swans this trip.

This trip it was all about my blue ball. My blue ball is my favorite toy in the world. Ever since Sosha moved in with us, she doesn’t let me play with it. Once in a while she gets put in the house so I can have quality blue ball time with someone, but that doesn’t happen often enough.

My dad packed blue ball in the car before we were leaving. And we were leaving Sosha behind. I felt a little bad about leaving her behind…but not bad enough to take her with us.

Here is my take on the long weekend:

For some reason, I found it both entertaining and upsetting to drop blue ball off the end of the dock.
The ball would come close enough to the dock and then I would reach out and pull it closer and try to grab it.
I was successful once, but it was hard!
I would plead and whine and cry and bark for help.
And my dad would say, “Go to the shore, get in the water and swim out to get it!”
He would say it more than once because I insisted that he help me get it.
I was successful. Twice.
Eventually I did swim out to get it several times.
Still, I liked it a lot better when my dad helped.
It was fun when my dad would kick blue ball for me.
I think my favorite was when he would kick it down the hill…

…And into the water. I don’t know how many times I jumped in and swam out to get it.
But it was never enough!
We had one day of rain.
My dad took it as a day to relax and rest.
I stared at him like this most of the day.
I would really have had no problem with playing blue ball in the rain.
The day after the rain, it was foggy.
During the swans’ daily visit, I noticed that blue ball had ventured out into the lake by itself.
I was a little nervous about going out to get it with those swans right there,
but I was more nervous that they would grab it and take off with it.
I guess I’m getting older and more mature. I just didn’t feel like wandering off the way I’ve done during past visits.
My dad discovered that if he left the back of our car open, I liked going in for a little rest.
I don’t know…it felt safe there.
Plus, it was handy if they decided to go somewhere they couldn’t sneak off without me didn’t have to look for me.
14 thoughts on “Duker-day…My Trip to the Cabin

  1. Glad Duke (and you and Daddy) had fun! Sosha really missed having a ball to play with while y'all were gone, and had to resort to playing fetch with an apple! She thinks someone needs to replace her red ball for her since he ran it over with the lawn mower. ☺Some day Sosha and I will make it up to the cabin to relax…and maybe teach a scaredy lab how fun the water can be!♥

  2. Glad Duke (and you and Daddy) had fun! Sosha really missed having a ball to play with while y'all were gone, and had to resort to playing fetch with an apple! She thinks someone needs to replace her red ball for her since he ran it over with the lawn mower. ☺Some day Sosha and I will make it up to the cabin to relax…and maybe teach a scaredy lab how fun the water can be!♥

  3. What a fun weekend had by all, but it does seem like a Doggies Dream Vac-Kay for sure! What a lovely spot, so pretty and peaceful! I have a couple of fuzzy children that like to "relax" in the car too, in case I decide to sneak away;) You are such a good boy, Duke!

  4. What a fun weekend had by all, but it does seem like a Doggies Dream Vac-Kay for sure! What a lovely spot, so pretty and peaceful! I have a couple of fuzzy children that like to "relax" in the car too, in case I decide to sneak away;) You are such a good boy, Duke!

  5. So glad you enjoyed your vacation with mom, dad, and Blue Ball.My dog, Cappie's, favorite toy is her Blue Thing. It is great fun and totally unpredictable when it lands; you never know which way it will go. That's why she likes it.Cappie and her sister, Daisy, are going to Dayton soon to see their girl, Caitlin. Caitlin will be 21 and she wants to celebrate with them. Since you are a dog, I know you appreciate that more than most pets.

  6. So glad you enjoyed your vacation with mom, dad, and Blue Ball.My dog, Cappie's, favorite toy is her Blue Thing. It is great fun and totally unpredictable when it lands; you never know which way it will go. That's why she likes it.Cappie and her sister, Daisy, are going to Dayton soon to see their girl, Caitlin. Caitlin will be 21 and she wants to celebrate with them. Since you are a dog, I know you appreciate that more than most pets.

I would love to hear what you think!

