Home » Uncategorized » On why I don’t like Burger King…

On why I don’t like Burger King…

This morning, before I was even brushed, washed and dressed, Jim asked if I wanted to run up to Marysville (our nearest city) because he needed to pick something up that he needed for his first service call today. He threw in the offer of a breakfast out and I was getting dressed before he could finish getting the words out.

There’s a local restaurant that we enjoy and we would normally do breakfast there, and we do fast food less often as I don’t tolerate those foods as well, but this morning we were in a rush, so…

Usually a quick breakfast out consists of McDonald’s hotcakes, but I really wasn’t prepared for being out amongst the people yet, so Burger King’s drive-thru was where we headed to today. We don’t often go to Burger King, our local one or any other. The service is usually poor and slow. You can always tell when the owner is working at ours because everyone is more polite and the line is moving much quicker than usual. If we have to do drive-thru though, Jim prefers Burger King because he likes their croissanwich better than McDonald’s breakfast sandwiches…and it’s nearly impossible to eat hotcakes behind the wheel.

We’re at the Burger King drive-thru and  –
Jim orders: “I’d like a number 2 with a large coffee and two number 8’s, one with a large coffee w/two creams and the other one with a milk to drink.” He says it slowly and clearly.
BK drive-thru: “Pull forward to the second window.” I hate when they don’t read back the order, or put it on the screen, or at least give your total since that sometimes is a good indication that they screwed up.
We get to the second window and are informed that they only have enough coffee for one cup, “would we like to wait?”. Jim should have said no but he said yes. Two things: 1) we ordered two coffees and two would be nice. 2) you run out of coffee at 8am?
She then gives us our total: $6.03. For three meals? I say, “That’s waaay not right.” Jim says to me, “Forget it. We’ll go to the other place.” and he pays. When Jim gets annoyed at service (and isn’t getting cheated), he would rather just patronize the competition. Believe me, we have complained to them or had to correct how they took our order on more than one occasion. So, we pay, get our food and drive forward to wait for that coffee.

I told you what we ordered. Here’s what they gave us:

Okay…how did they get the drinks right, but only got one meal out of all of that?

Once we got our coffee, we headed to McDonald’s and gave them our business. They rarely screw up and are usually quite nice. They just need to have something similar to a croissanwich and Jim would be happy.
Oh, and see that website on the receipt where they ask me to visit and give “my thoughts”? I did visit and I did give them “my thoughts”. ☺

11 thoughts on “On why I don’t like Burger King…

  1. Good for you on letting them know about inferior service. Our Wendy's is like your Burgrr King……I like the food but hate the service.

  2. You definitely deserve some free coupons for that mess up!!I was way overcharged on an order at a McDonalds in the US. I was back in Ontario before I did my calculating. I e-mailed them and got zilch. I've never been back!!

  3. When I go to a fast food drive in (rarely) I always sit at the window and check my order real quick because they seem to screw things up alot! Tht being said I do love BK's crossantwich!

  4. My father will eat at Burger King every day and tell me it's my mental fixation that makes me hate the food. I don't think so!

  5. It's always frustrating when people at the drive-thru don't get your order right. My hubby has no patience with that kind of screw up either, so you're not alone! Good that you visited the website and gave them your thoughts. Maybe, some day, the headquarters will do something about that particular branch.

  6. It's always frustrating when people at the drive-thru don't get your order right. My hubby has no patience with that kind of screw up either, so you're not alone! Good that you visited the website and gave them your thoughts. Maybe, some day, the headquarters will do something about that particular branch.

I would love to hear what you think!

