Home » Home » Doing double duty

Doing double duty

We don’t have a/c in our house.

I know, right?!

And you know what? We don’t have cable either. We truly do live in the ’50’s.

We really don’t mind…and that’s not my point this morning. Sometimes I stray off topic.

Since we don’t have a/c, we have a oscillating stand fan in our bedroom. I love it. It has served us well for several years. It’s always there in the summer, standing by waiting for whenever we may need it. And it came with a remote! Which was really cool when we bought it because we didn’t know fans had remotes.

This year when we brought our trusty fan down from the attic, and by “we” I mean “Jim”, I put new batteries in the remote and…it didn’t work! Well, the fan worked, but not the remote. Which meant that now I would have to actually walk to where the fan is to turn it off and on. Geesh.

I can deal though. I could really use the exercise anyhow.

Then, one day last week, I turned the fan on before getting into bed and it was making a noise. A loud noise. The kind of noise that would prevent us from sleeping. And we had to turn the fan off. I missed it, but started thinking of getting a new fancy fan with a remote that worked and I felt better.

The next night came after a busy day and there was no new fan when we were getting ready for bed. I turned old trusty fan on thinking maybe the noises disappeared. Guess what! They did. And I forgot about new fancy fan with working remote. Till Jim turned the channel on the tv and I heard a beep. “Why do I hear a beep when you change the channel?” I wondered to Jim. More channel changing and further investigation revealed to us that…every time that Jim turned the channel he changed a setting on our fan. We discovered that changing the channel up or down changed the timer on the fan and changing the volume up or down changed the speed of the fan. Hmmm…interesting.

I mean we should be happy that we have a remote for the fan again, right? Except that now…we can’t get the tv and the fan to agree.

14 thoughts on “Doing double duty

  1. and good for you…I really despise AC; makes me stuffed up but our golden gets so hot and pants and so we have AC turned on but I so prefer it not being on; love the breezes that blow through the house 🙂

  2. I've never heard of that happening. I swear I did pop another trunk on a car, with my remote opener, when I was approaching ours with groceries. I didn't go back and look but I know I heard it pop. Yours is more weird.You win.

  3. That's pretty funny. One time the remote for our car was turning on and off some other car's panic alarm. We did have a little fun with it for a few minutes, I have to say!

  4. Oh, that's really funny!And just think, Laura Ingalls Wilder didn't have a/c either…or a fan!At least you live up north. It's been running over 110 every day here and only cools to the 80s at night. Don't know how we managed it before a/c.

  5. That's hilarious! I don't like AC either, but I've been really hot lately and it's hard to sleep. At first my oscillating fan noise kept me awake – I'm kinda like the Princess and the Pea that way. But now it is kind of comforting. And it sure helps.

  6. Well I quite like a/c – and in Maryland where we are very humid and hot the whole summer it has become a necessity. But cable – I could do without cable.

  7. Oh gosh, that's so funny—funny weir that is. With all my Stephen King novels and thriller movies, I'm a little freaked out. LOLI could NOT live down here in the summer without a/c. No way! But I remember summers as a kid when I had a window fan in my room and was lulled to sleep by the noise it made.

  8. I like it 74 degrees all year round..I am spoiled. Working all day in the heat I really like to come home and cool off. I love my fan too..I have a remote for it but I have never used it…I wonder what mine does besides operating the fan 🙂

  9. Oh my gosh, this was such a cute story. LOL What WOULD we do without today's technology, eh? It's the little things in life… 🙂 So glad to hear your fan noises have stopped. Maybe check the serial numbers on each appliance to see where they were made? If one was made in Taiwan, and the other in China, that might be why they can't communicate with each other. I'm just sayin'. LOL

I would love to hear what you think!

