Home » Antiquing » Adventures in Antiquing II

Adventures in Antiquing II

 Jim and I recently escaped for a rainy afternoon away. I often ask myself why we didn’t start doing this years ago…Jim has always loved antiques and has amassed quite a collection since he was a youngster, most of it all packed away somewhere.
For some reason, although I loved antiques, I never really actively collected (except on ebay) and just didn’t have that thrill of the hunt. Jim never pushed it. Until our trip to LauraPalooza last summer when I gave him carte blanche to pick anything that he wanted to do all the way home. We stopped at several antique stores and now I’m hooked. So now it gives us something to do together that we both really enjoy. Jim doesn’t buy a whole lot because he’s been collecting for so long that it has to be really “something” for him to buy. Here’s our latest take:

I’ve said before that I don’t have the ability to age things, but I loved this little sunbonnet and it looks quite old.

Jim found a box of old photos before I did and had already picked out the two on the left before he left the rest for me to go through.

A Scholastic edition of Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder. My very first Little House book was ordered from Scholastic, but I’ve never seen another one. I wasn’t going to buy this, but Jim insisted. He’s an enabler!

Jim found this too. Woman’s Day from January 1960. I was born in November of that year. Loved reading the articles!

We’ve got so many jars and bottles that we now look for unusual or local ones to collect. We had never seen a “Green Spot” bottle before. I googled it and found that it was an orange drink company that was founded in the ’30’s (orangeade). It came with the little white styrofoam beads in it, but I think I need to find something orange to display it.

Jim found this radio. It’s one of the first portable radios from the ’40’s. He’s always had an obsession interest in old radios that’s he’s put on the back burner for way too long. I’m glad to see the renewed interest. He thinks that I may be sorry that I encouraged him to buy it. ☺

9 thoughts on “Adventures in Antiquing II

  1. I love poking around in antique stores and fleamarkets and garage sales….so many great treasures out there.Did you know there is a sight called Dead Fred where you can post old photos? Great fun. I try to look for photos with names or at least photographers stamps on them. People looking for family can search Dead Fred.

  2. I also love antiquing. My husband will occasionally ramble around in an antique shop with me, but he usually sits patiently in the truck waiting for me. And never complains. I love that man.

  3. Oh my gosh, that Scholastic edition is the one I had when I was a kid! Really made me smile to see that cover again. :)I always love looking at old photos too.

  4. Looking closely at the bonnet, I think it is from the 50s or 60s or early 70s. Rickrack was popular in those time periods and gingham checks were, as well. People made all kinds of things out of gingham checks. I have an apron my grandmother made about that time-period with green checks and rickrack. It's a beautiful bonnet! And in great shape!

  5. What a nice collection of treasures! It's so nice that you and Jim have a mutual hobby that you can share.I love that little bonnet, and the portable radio looks really interesting!Good finds, you two!

I would love to hear what you think!

