Home » Books » Reading – In The Mirror, A Memoir of Shattered Secrets by Ann Carbine Best

Reading – In The Mirror, A Memoir of Shattered Secrets by Ann Carbine Best

I “met” Ann Best and found her blog, Ann Best’s Blog (now at wordpress) through the A – Z Challenge in April. I discovered that she had written a memoir titled In the Mirror, A Memoir of Shattered Secrets and ordered it as it sounded like something that would be a really interesting read.

I was not disappointed.

Ann Carbine and Larry Best fell in love and were married in 1961. She thought it would be forever. After having four children and sharing their life together, she found out that he had been having affairs with men. Ann was devastated, but they still wanted to save their marriage. Following her through her journey of pain and heartache, trying to help Larry and stay married, I felt such sadness when it finally ended. Ann was forced to start her life over as a single mother of four kids and decided to move to a new place to begin again. It wasn’t long before tragedy struck again and Ann had to face the anguish of almost losing two daughters in a car accident that seriously injured one and permanently disabled another. There is so much more and it is well worth your time to read Ann’s story and discover just how strong one woman can be when faced with no other choice.

8 thoughts on “Reading – In The Mirror, A Memoir of Shattered Secrets by Ann Carbine Best

  1. Thanks for sharing a litle about this book.I'm going to add it to my booklist. I just found your blog and I am now your new follower! Won't you come over and follow us too! We'd be happy to have you! Hugs! Loretta

  2. I'm always looking for a good book. I really appreciate when someone loves a book enough to talk about it. It was also nice to see the authors comments. I'll be looking for it.

  3. Laura: I am SO glad you posted on my WordPress. I just saw your review on Amazon–and thank you SO much–but I didn't know your last name and wondered, Who is this? Now I know! I'm now going to post a snippet on my Blogger blog to see if I can get some people over here to meet you.I'm glad you've created a WordPress blog. Today I've been seeing comments from MANY bloggers who are having some weird problem with Blogger, like there's some kind of virus in it.Do you have anything on your new blog yet?Ann Best, Author of In the Mirror, A Memoir of Shattered Secrets

  4. This book certainly does sound like an interesting read, and thanks, Laura, for sharing your synopsis with us.How nice that Ann Best got to read your comments and responded to them. Now that's special! 🙂

I would love to hear what you think!

