Home » Books » The Sun Also Rises

The Sun Also Rises

A couple of months ago, our book club decided to read The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway. I was looking forward to it as I’d never gotten a chance and had always wanted to read Hemingway. I have to say that it was not my favorite read…
Maybe more of a man’s read?

From Goodreads:
The Sun Also Rises was Ernest Hemingway’s first big novel, and immediately established Hemingway as one of the great prose stylists, and one of the preeminent writers of his time. It is also the book that encapsulates the angst of the post-World War I generation, known as the Lost Generation. This poignantly beautiful story of a group of American and English expatriates in Paris on an excursion to Pamplona represents a dramatic step forward for Hemingway’s evolving style. Featuring Left Bank Paris in the 1920s and brutally realistic descriptions of bullfighting in Spain, the story is about the flamboyant Lady Brett Ashley and the hapless Jake Barnes. In an age of moral bankrupcy, spiritual dissolution, unrealized love, and vanishing illustions, this is the Lost Generation.

I’m not in the minority here as my daughter and sister-in-law had the same opinion. I’m not writing off Hemingway completely. I own The Nick Adams Stories which I do plan to read (hopefully this summer).

So…who is up for Hemingway? I bought my copy new and it has only been read by my daughter and I.

If you’d like a chance to win this very book:

Be a public follower of my blog and leave a comment telling me what your favorite summer activity is. You have till June 13. I will announce the winner on June 14th!

Remember — you must be a public follower of my blog to enter! Good luck!

11 thoughts on “The Sun Also Rises

  1. My favourite summer activity? Anything that gets me out of the house and into the sunshine. We are retired now so we take little road trips and get out and look at things along the way, take our lunch, get lost and let the gps get us home….take photos….I can't walk too much so we just poke along and enjoy ourselves.

  2. Since I'm already your follower one point done! As for the summer activity this is hard. I love to have a nice ice coffee on a terasse with a bit of shadow and read. Hemingway sounds good 🙂

  3. My favorite summertime activity is the drive in movies. We have one a few towns over that is very retro in style and price. You get 2 movies and can cook out or by some amazing yummy treats. I like the night sky and the cool breeze that comes with the evening. It is always fun watching thekids run around ans friends meeting up. Sitting in a lawn chair in the back of a reversed park pick-up is the best. This year I get to bring my kids, I can't wait to show my 2 year old the big tv in the sky.

  4. My favorite summer activity is to take a book to the beach, along with the umbrella, the grass mat,my hat, my iced tea from McDonalds, etc. Once I'm set up, I'm good for a while. I've not read Hemmingway. Like you, I thought I should and a book club would have made me. Wasn't there a movie from one of his books about a soldier falling in love with a female ambulance driver during a war. Was that this one?

  5. My favorite summer activity is to take a book to the beach, along with the umbrella, the grass mat,my hat, my iced tea from McDonalds, etc. Once I'm set up, I'm good for a while. I've not read Hemmingway. Like you, I thought I should and a book club would have made me. Wasn't there a movie from one of his books about a soldier falling in love with a female ambulance driver during a war. Was that this one?

  6. I'm with you I do not like Hemingway. He seems too"1 The words of the Teacher,[a] son of David, king in Jerusalem: 2 “Meaningless! Meaningless!” says the Teacher. “Utterly meaningless! Everything is meaningless.” "for my taste.My favorite summer activity? Concerts. Three day one at Kings Island next month, and the Ichthus festival in a couple weeks.

  7. Thanks for stopping by and telling me you couldn't put my memoir down. I'm so glad you liked it.I just got a used copy of Hemingway's complete stories. I liked him when I first read him in my twenties and wanted to read him again from an older perspective. I think I understand your reaction, and the others like you. But I think his style is good for writers to study. Understated. No excess. I like the realism. I think he's great with dialogue; in some stories there is almost no descriptive passages.Reading him does take one back to a different time and place(s).He was an interesting man.Good post!I'm a follower. Does that make me a public follower? I would love to read The Sun Also Rises. I don't think I've ever read that one.

  8. Gosh, I don't think I've read a Hemingway book since high school. It would be interesting to read one now as an adult (when my teenage mind isn't awhirl with thoughts of driving and boys). LOLMy favorite summer activity is going anywhere "up north" for a weekend or longer. I love the slower pace and watching nature all around while up there.Hope your week is going well, Laura!

  9. Laura,I really had to come and visit your site after reading about how you and Betty are kindred spirits on her blog about her hair. I my dear am also a kindred spirit…my mom suffers from alopecia and I have baby fine, very thin hair and if there is something i am very VERY self-conscious about, it is my hair. My daily prayer is that someday I will have thick gorgeous curls…oh well, it wasn't meant to be but I do admire someone who can admit their hair is trouble!:) I like your blog and gosh, haven't read that book in ages, if ever come to think about it!

  10. I'm not a fan of Hemingway, either. I tried to be, really, because I thought that *everybody* was a Hemingway fan. Yeah. Not me. :/I do like the cover, though.

I would love to hear what you think!

