Home » A - Z Challenge » W-ater

W-ater

Water is very important in our life. We are second generation water well drillers so, not only do we firmly believe that water is the most valuable resource, but it’s also what sustains us!

My husband, my father-in-law, and my son

My father-in-law started this water well drilling business in 1940, before he went off to serve his country in World War II. When he came back, he picked up where he left off and went on to build a successful small business. It was a family affair. My mother-in-law worked hard to help him make the business the success that it is. There was a lot of hard work and many sacrifices along the way. Pa’s (my father-in-law) reputation was all the advertising that was needed. Everyone in the area knew what a good, honest, fair, and hard-working man he was. He was greatly respected and greatly mourned when he died suddenly almost seven years ago, leaving a vast hole, not only in the family, but in the business as well. You see, although he had mostly retired from the business and he and my mother-in-law built a new house to retire in, he was still here every day. Sometimes he did his own thing like wood-turning and chainsaw carving and sometimes he went out on the job with my husband. He helped Jim the very day before he passed away peacefully in his sleep. We still miss him…

He left some big shoes to fill and no one could fill them better than my husband. Although Jim went to school to learn another trade, he could not or maybe did not want to escape the pull of “the business”. He probably started working for Pa as soon as he was old enough and it’s been full-time since he graduated from high school over 30 years ago. About the time Jim and I met, he was in the process of buying the business from his parents. I knew from the get-go that if Jim and I had a future together, the business would be a huge part of our lives. And it has been. It’s been almost twenty years since we bought the house that my husband grew up in that sits on the same property that has housed the business for over 50 years. Obviously that means that we are always “at work”. The business is our life and our life is the business. We have learned that time away is precious and we cherish any escapes that we have been able to steal away. We pride ourselves in keeping up the good reputation that Jim’s parents worked so hard to build. We have worked hard and stand behind every job. When our business completes a job, we have put our all into it. Hard work and dedication: those are the two most important building blocks in a successful business. We may never be rich, but we are proud to be known as honest, hard-working, and generous.

Jim and I by the drilling rig and our kids by the water truck. Yes, it is indeed…a family photo with our work trucks!

And we would consider our role as parents to be successful if we have passed those traits on to our children. I think that we have. Both of our kids have worked in the business at some point in their lives. I think it encouraged our daughter to stay in college! ☺ Our son has chosen a different career, but we know he could jump back in if he decided to come back. I sure have gone out on my share of jobs with Jim, but my main job is to tackle all of the office work.

Jim – setting up the rig.

Business is slower in the last couple of years. Jim mostly works by himself these days…I’m here to lend a hand when he needs me. We hope that, as the economy improves, things will pick up. I have grown to love this business. We have some of the most wonderful customers. We have met some awesome well drillers whom we consider great friends.

Water is life. Well Water is naturally better!

4 thoughts on “W-ater

  1. Dear Laura, What a wonderful tribute to Water and "W" – an excellent post.Well drilling, what an interesting line of work. I couldn't agree more that dedication and hard work are, as you say, the building blocks of a successful business.I, too, have been self-employed for these last twenty-seven years and those words ring true for me.I am very pleased to have found my way to your site through this A-Z challenge and I will continue my visits after it finishes.Happy Thoughts,Jenny

  2. I love to hear of family businesses where the family is honest, hardworking, and stand by their work. Very nice story, Laura. Thanks for sharing!

I would love to hear what you think!

